Makeover Monday- ribbon scraps


Hi everyone!

I can’t believe that it’s time again for a Makeover Monday post! Where does the time go??? If you are not familiar with my Makeover Monday let me fill you in a bit.
Every first Monday of the month I show you a project or projects showcasing ways to use scraps and things that might otherwise get thrown out, or a found object that has been re-purposed into something beautiful and useful. To see previous Makeover Monday posts just click on the Makeover Monday category link at the bottom of this post and a list of previous Makeover Monday posts should show up.

This week it’s all about using up those little bits of ribbon that might seem too small to be of much use. I keep all my Stampin’ Up! ribbon on the spools they come on and all my non Stampin’ Up! ribbon wrapped on little cards and stored by color. When I get a piece that is just too small to wrap around the spool or card it goes into my vintage Coca-Cola box where I store my bits of ribbon along with a few other embellishments.

007

Those are jars of buttons on the left and my American Crafts embellishments in the back. Seeing all those pretty pieces of ribbon just makes me want to create something with them! As you can see, it’s getting kind of full and it needs to be emptied out a bit. I have got some fun projects to show you today that will hopefully help you pare down your own stash of ribbon scraps and find new uses for them.

First up I have a fun tutorial for making beautiful ribbon butterflies like the one I used on this scrapbook page. Isn’t it adorable? It’s made using the butterflies Sizzix die from Stampin” Up! LOVE that die!!!
001

Cut a piece of heavy cardstock or lightweight card board in the size you will need for the die you want to use. I used the lightweight cardboard that comes with the packages of patterned paper from Stampin’ Up!
009

Pick out the scraps of ribbon you would like to use. These have to be long enough to cover the cardboard piece.
010

Next cover your paper/cardboard piece with double sided sticky tape. The sticky sheets from Stampin’ Up! would be great for this. I didn’t have any of them so I used this wide sticky tape I had on hand.
011

Cover your piece completely and trim off the edges.
012

Peel off the red tape backing and cover the piece with your ribbon scraps.
013

Until it’s completely covered. Trim ribbons even with edges.
014

Place your ribbon covered piece on your die with the ribbon facing down against the die. Run through your Big Shot machine, and Voila! A beautiful ribbon butterfly! Don’t you just love it?
0151

Now you can further embellish the center of your butterfly with small embellishments if you desire. Here I used some felt flowers and brads.
016

Here’s a close up of the one I used on my scrapbook page embellished with buttons.
0071

A little about the scrapbook page before I go on. I almost deleted those pictures from my camera when I saw that they didn’t turn out well. I was outside taking a picture of my kids through our patio window. After taking a closer look I realized that I loved those pictures because of all the telling details I can see in them. If you click on the photo you will be able to see the page larger and read the journaling. Then you can see what I mean. These photos were perfect for the word up right now on the One Little Word blog. This week the word is See, so I created this page with that in mind.

Okay, on to the rest of my fab ribbon scraps projects.

I made this ribbon flower out of scraps of various pink ribbons. It took me all of about two minutes to make this.
002

You could use this to embellish a scrapbook page or a card, but I made mine into a barrette for my daughter to wear. It would be cute to attach a pin fastener on the back and wear on your lapel as well.

For this project I lined the opening of a chipboard piece with ribbon scraps after I had painted the chipboard and sanded it for a distressed look.
0031

Again, this is a fun little piece you could use to embellish a page or a card or other project.

Next we have a card. On this card I used a tiny piece of twill and stamped a small message on it. I also tied a tiny piece of gingham ribbon around the paper clip that holds the twill in place.
006

And the entire card.
005

And last but not least I used lots of scraps of green ribbons for a fun twist on the grass for this piece.
004

I plan to use this piece on a scrapbook page, but you could also attach it to the front of a card or even use another ribbon scrap at the top and hang this piece from a gift and write a short message on the back.

Well, there ya go! Tell me what you think. I hope I was able to inspire you to find some new ways to use up those little scraps of ribbon instead of throwing them in the trash can. After all these projects I made my ribbon box is still full, so I guess I better go find some more fun ways to use them up. I think I will make some more barrettes for Chloe with some of them.

19 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- ribbon scraps

  1. kolleen seibel says:

    hi brenda , i was wondering if you use the sewin g machine for the 1 card? Or how did u get the stitching look????wonderful ideas loved them all !

  2. Sue says:

    OMGoodness…what brilliant ideas for using scraps of ribbons. I am definately going to use some to make ribbon butterflies too. Thank you for the inspiration. Just found your blog through Kristine’s colour challenge list!
    I’ll add you to my reader list..after I check out your other Monday posts 🙂
    Sue

  3. diane says:

    hey brenda. just to let you know i check your posts every time i get an email. i love your ideas.. they are simple and inspirational! keep em comin’

  4. Doreen Worth says:

    Brenda – what great ideas for ribbons. I am sure that I am not the only one with loads of ribbons bought on impulse – and because they look good – and because they are there – etc, etc – and this is a wonderful idea to use them to the best advantage.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Regards

    Doreen

  5. jogry blok says:

    Brenda, what a great idea, I love it now I can use up all my little bits of ribbon.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Jogry/bali

  6. Veronica says:

    This is great, Brenda! I’m always looking for things to use my little scraps of leftover ribbons on. Such wonderful ideas!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!