December Memories blog hop


unnamed

Hello everyone! I’m so excited to be joining the rest of the Gossamer Blue design team girls to bring you today’s blog hop. The December Memories album kit from Gossamer Blue is so gorgeous, and we wanted to take this opportunity to inspire you to create your own album. We’ll be sharing lots of fun ideas along the way for creating base pages, organization, etc.

If you’re following along on the hop, you probably came here from Beshka’s blog. The entire blog hop order is also listed below for your convenience.

This is my first year to make a December album. Actually, I take that back. I did try to do one a few years ago, but I failed miserably. It never quite came together for me, for several reasons. So, this year I was a little nervous to do a December album. But when I saw the kit, I was sold. I loved the colors and designs. I love the fun and modern color scheme. I loved it all! And I was determined to make it work for me.

I can’t wrap my head around completing an entire album ahead of time (minus the photos). I know that I can’t nail things down ahead of time because I really don’t know what my days will look like or what activities we’ll be doing or photos we’ll be taking on any given day. So, I decided I would do just a few base pages, some where I can add just a photo or two and some journaling, and do the rest as I go along.  That seemed to be the best plan of action for me.

IMG_9530

This is my introductory page. I didn’t decorate the cover at all, because I still haven’t decided yet if I want to. I used only the kit contents and some machine stitching to decorate these pages.

IMG_9532

I kept some space free to add some photos and journaling here on the left, and on the bottom insert on the right. Since I already know what I’d like to add for my first day, I went ahead and added the number 1. That is the only page that is pretty much set in stone, besides the introductory page. All others are subject to change, in some fashion.

IMG_9554

 

IMG_9551

I created a pocket in this page protector by stitching with my sewing machine. I added some of the fun sequins included in the kit. The Merry vellum die cut piece is simply stitched into place as well.

IMG_9552

 

IMG_9553

IMG_9534

Again, here I left some space for photos and journaling. On the page on the left, I used a large insert and divided into sections with machine stitching. I plan to either add a photo to each blank section, or maybe a photo in one and some journaling in the other. On the right side I left a spot open to just slide a photo in the empty space.

IMG_9546

Some puffy stickers, sequins, die cut stars, a plaid enamel dot, some stamped stars, and some white mist drops fill in the upper right section of this page.

IMG_9544

Creating fun pockets like this one is my favorite part of making this album. I enjoy sticking little embellishments in the pockets and just stitching them into place. it’s a fun way to break up a page and use up some of the many awesome embellishments in this kit. Here I used some acrylic snowflakes, a die cut snowflake, and a die cut star.

IMG_9535

The page on the left here is one of my favorites so far. I created a little shaker page by cutting out the 25 with my Silhouette. Then I backed it with a transparency and added my sequins. I love the way it turned out. I thought about possibly adding a photo later, but I’m pretty sure I will just leave it blank. just because i like it that way. I think it will serve as a sort of introductory page to our actual Christmas Day celebration. Everything else is just leading up to that day. I plan to add more photos that day than any other, so that deserves it’s own special section.

IMG_9541

 

IMG_9539

I plan to add something for each day of December, whether that be a photo or several photos, or just some journaling. I kind of have a list in my head of all the things I’d like to capture throughout the month, such a decorating the tree, baking cookies, Christmas programs and recitals, etc. But then I’d also like to capture the smaller details, like a cup of hot cocoa, mittens in the snow, etc. etc. I would love to end up with a jam packed full album with lots of photos, lots of journaling, and entire month of memories captured all in one place.

So I don’t really know how this album will turn out, but I plan to just have fun with it and see what happens. One thing I do know is that I’ve really been enjoying the process so far. I’m a little surprised at how much I’ve been enjoying it, to tell you the truth. Working with a specific kit is really how I like it. I have all my kit contents out on my desk, where they will stay for the entire month, so I can sit down and add pages as I go.

I plan to share more as I go along, as well as my organization, so stay tuned for that.

In the meantime, check out what the rest of the Gossamer Blue design team girls have to share today. I personally can’t wait to see their albums because I know they will rock it!

To keep hopping, head on over to Cindy Liebel’s blog, or see the blog hop list below.

Anabelle O’Malley
Beshka Kueser
Brenda Weaver
Cindy Liebel
Diane Payne
Erin Taylor
Ewa Kujawska
Eyoung Lee
Heather Leopard
Jessica Lohof
Jill Cornell
Jill Keller
Jina Jean
Kasia Przbyt
Katie Ehmann
Keisha Campbell
Laura Rahel Crosby
Magda Mizera
Maria Lacuesta
Melanie Blackburn
Naomi Atkins
Michelle Wooderson
Pam Garrison
Rebecca Luminarias
Tara Anderson
Vanessa Perry
Gossamer Blue Blog

6 thoughts on “December Memories blog hop

  1. bckueser says:

    Love your pages!! The pink “holiday” is fab but had me stumped, love how you used it!! Thanks for the inspo…your album is amazing already!! 😉

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!