Pub cards: Paper Crafts July/August 2013


031

The July/August issue of Paper Crafts Magazine is now available. I have two cards in this issue. Both of them are found in the “A Study in Freestyle Collage” section of the magazine. My style tends to be a little eclectic, definitley freestyle, and somewhat collage-y, so this particular style challenge really spoke to me.

The card I’m sharing here is heavy on the collage part of this design style. I layered on a bunch of different elements in an easy, and a little messy, way. I adore this casual approach to design, and it’s not only reflected in my paper crafting, but in the way I style my home and also sometimes in the way I dress. I love the mix of unexpected elements, the old with new, different styles and patterns, a surprise mix of colors and textures. To me it’s what keeps things interesting.

This design style probably isn’t for everyone, but I think it’s definitely the style that best reflects me. And that is a fun statement to make, because for the longest time I had a hard time nailing down my design style. It didn’t seem to really fit into any of the popular design styles that were out there. If someone would ask I would probably have said something like “clean vintage” to best describe my style. But when I heard the term “freestyle” I felt like I had finally found a design term that best describes me.

032

You can catch a glimpse of the other card I have in this issue on this blog post over at the Moxie Fab World Blog.

What about you? Do you have a particular style you tend to gravitate towards? Or one that you like, but find hard to acheive? Do you dress or decorate your home the same way you paper craft? I’d love to hear about your design style!

 

Thanks so much for stopping by!

 

5 thoughts on “Pub cards: Paper Crafts July/August 2013

  1. PaulaSpagnuolo says:

    I’d probably classify my natural style as graphic but I enjoy mixing it up. Both of your cards are fabulous and I’m inspired to try a few ‘freestyle’ cards myself. It’s almost got a ‘mixed media’ feel. Love it!

  2. JeanD says:

    Lovely cards Brenda and congrats on being published again. I’m afraid that I can only admire you for being able to get a mix of bits to come together with such style, it’s something I never manage.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!