Watercolor series: layers


059So, let’s get back to the water color series, shall we? If you’ve just found my blog recently and haven’t read the other posts in this series, you can find them here:

Water color scrapbook page: Instagram favorites

Watercolor friend card: Just brush it on

Watercolor series delight card: color outside the lines

this one wasn’t part of the series, but if you like the watercolor look you might want to check it out anyway

watercolor dream decor frame

For today’s page I used brushed on my watercolors, much like I did on the Instagram page I did, but I used a lot more layers. Let me explain.

First, I brushed on the pale yellow. Then, when it was dry I dropped on dots of pink and a little black. But while the pink and black were still wet I spritzed it with more water which made the colors feather out and create a really neat effect. When that was completely dry I dropped on more yellow drops.

056

 

 

to make drops of watercolors, I simply load up a round brush with as much water and paint as it will hold and then drop it off the end of the brush. The bigger the brush, the bigger the blobs of paint.

The flower tag was the starting point for this entire page. I planned the colors and layout and everything else around it. Do you ever do that?

057I chose to add a few sequins in a neutral tone to coordinate with the pale yellow. I like how they add just a tiny bit of shimmer and dimension and also kind of echo the splotches of paint.

So, I was thinking this would be my last post in the watercolor series, but I just found some little tags that I was playing around with a while back that i had forgotten all about. They were used to experiment with different painted watercolor patterns. If you’re not tired of the watercolor series yet, maybe I’ll post those too. What do you think?

Hope your day is beautiful! thanks for stopping by!

 

3 thoughts on “Watercolor series: layers

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    So pretty! Love the contrast of the tags and watercolors with the black/white/gray of the photo and other elements. It’s a great photo too!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

