Makeover Monday #2


Hello everyone!
Happy Monday! How was your weekend? Did you all watch the Superbowl? I did, although football is way at the bottom of my list of fun things to do. In fact, come to think of it, it’s not even on the list! We watched here at home, just my husband and me and my in-laws, which was nice, because I could sit there with my laptop and cruise the net while I “watched”. I use that term loosely because I wasn’t really watching the game. About the only thing I tuned in for was the commercials, which I didn’t think were all that good this year.

Anyway, enough about that already! I have a LOT to share with you today! Today is the first Monday on the month which makes it Makeover Monday here in Sweet Paper Treats land.

This time I’m actually going to show you an easy tutorial. My first attempt at a tutorial. I hope you like it.
Today’s Makeover Monday project has to do with some cute little hand made flowers I’ve been seeing everywhere. I thought I’d show you how I use my stash of paper scraps to make them. They are super fun and super cute!

Here’s what you’ll need:
-various scraps of patterned paper
-circle punches in three (or more) sizes (I also use my Coluzzle or other circle cutters for larger sized flowers)
-buttons or brads to coordinate with your paper
-glue dots
068

punch or cut three or more circles in graduated sizes out of your patterned paper scraps.
0701

0712

Start crumpling each punched out circle and then smooth them out. I crumple them and then smooth each one out at least three times, maybe more, depending on the thickness of the paper. You want them to have a real good crinkly texture to them. Your circles will end up looking like this:
074

Stack them on top of one another, adhering them with glue dots.
075

0771

Decorate the center with a brad, button, or other small embellishment.
078

Then use your hand made flower on a project. In this case I used mine to embellish the front of a card.
0791

Want to see some more? Here are some scrapbook pages on which I used the flowers for embellishments.
065

And some close ups.
066

0671

001

003

Aren’t these fun? And, they’re a great way to use up small bits of leftover paper that may be too small for anything else.
You could use these to dress up a little gift package too. Go ahead and try it out!

3 thoughts on “Makeover Monday #2

  1. Sue says:

    OH…I just did this for Kristine’s challenge..LOL. I had been seeing them on SCS bt could not find the tutorial so winged it..looks like I did OK I think…maybe a bit more crinkling.
    TFS
    Sue

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!