Inspired By/Blogger Challenge: patterns


IMG_6268

Today’s post is a double whammy. I’m sharing another Inspired By project, but I’m also participating in something new.

A couple of other bloggers and I have teamed up to bring you Blogger Challenges. These are a monthly challenge that a group of us diverse bloggers will be participating in, and each month we will focus on something new. This month it’s patterns. Each of us will be sharing project in the theme of “patterns”. It could be  a home decor or DIY piece, or  crafting project, like mine. Be sure to  visit each of the participating blogs for lots of fun pattern inspiration! You will find each blogger’s challenge photo and blog link below. Special thanks to Chelsea from Pinterior Designer for asking me to participate in these challenges!

Now, for the Inspired By portion of the post.

The inspiration for my page comes from this image by Hello Lidy. Please go check out her blog. She’s an amazing graphic designer and DIY-er. It was a treat to browse her blog and take a look at everything. Thanks to Lidy for giving me permission to use her gorgeous mood board image!

7abf47e0e690068e1a175e633c5912fb

I love so much about this mood board! I love the natural elements: the wood, the sheepskin and the antlers. I love the text elements: the large monogram, the written words and arrows, and the quote. I love the color scheme: the blacks, whites, and other neutrals, plus the tiny pop of green.Plus, what I really love is all the triangles. LOVE! I thought the triangle pattern would be fun to try out for this challenge.

I decided to use several of the mood board elements on my page. First off, the triangles were the base of my design. Then I took inspiration from the natural elements and the neutral colors to pick out patterned papers and other elements to accent my photos.

I went with a wood grain paper, a black and white hand written text paper, and a birch wood patterned paper. Then I added in some large, monogram type, letters for my title.

IMG_6272

I also added some flair with a deer head image and a wood grain heart image. I loved how they seemed to fit in so well with the mood board image.

IMG_6275

I also loved the hand written words that were added to the image. I decided to do that with my page as well. I love the end results. It adds a fun element to the page, I think.

IMG_6276

I love the end results and it was a fun page to put together. Special thanks to Hello Lidy for the beautiful inspiration piece!

You can see my last Inspired By post here.

Go check out the other blogs taking part in the blogger challenge. I hope you’ll be inspired to try out a “pattern” project of your own! If so, I hope you’ll pop back in and sure it with me. I’d love to see what you come up with!

Grace Lee Cottage, Cute Kid, Ugly House, La Vita DiBella, Retro Ranch Renovation, Country Mouse Tales, Pinterior Designer, Sweet Paper Treats , Lemon Drop Life

Image Map

Image Map

8 thoughts on “Inspired By/Blogger Challenge: patterns

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    Fantastic layout! Love the triangles/diamonds and how you inserted inspiration at every turn! I really love this one!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!