On My Desk: Avery Elle


PicMonkey Collage

So, the other day as I was attempting to clean up my works space, this happened. By “this” I mean the cards you see in the photos above. Often in the course of trying to clean up I get a bit distracted by all the fun things I see laying around. Random pretty things that are just begging to find a place to belong.

So, I sat down and began to play around with the things I was finding on my desk. Which brings us to another “On My Desk” post. I think these posts are probably one of my favorites.

You can see more “On My Desk” posts here.

This time I had a bunch of patterned paper pieces left over from my bag after the scrapbook retreat that I still hand’t put in their proper place. The thing I love about random scraps laying in a pile is that I often find new patterns to put together that I probably wouldn’t have if I would have gone searching for a combination on my own. I picked out a few from the pile that I thought looked pretty together to make this first card.

039

I loved the soft pinks, blue, and grey patterns. Loved how sweet and romantic they looked. I grabbed my heart punch and began punching lots of hearts in two different sizes. then I arranged them how I liked them and adhered them to the card, popping some of them up with foam adhesive for a little dimension.

040

I also had some new stamp sets from Avery Elle on my desk that I hadn’t yet gotten a chance to use. I like to keep my new stamp sets on my desk until I use them at least once. Then I place them in the container with all my other stamp set. I added the sentiment (Love Notes) from Avery Elle and some sequins to this card to finish it off.

This next card also features a stamp set from Avery Elle (Petals and Stems). Another set that I hand’t gotten to play with yet. I love the various sized florals in this set. So pretty!

I had in mind a pretty watercolor floral look and played around, trying to find a way to achieve what I had in my mind. I settled on using Gelatos. By scribbling the gelatos directly onto the stamp surface, then spritzing it with water I was able to achieve the look I was going for. This next card is the result of that.

046

I knew I had nailed it when my son came over to see what I was doing and asked if I had painted those flowers. No, but that’s exactly the look I wanted. I was happy to have found a way to achieve the look I was going for!

I added two shades of gelatos to the flower images to make them look a little more realistic and interesting. Also, you can easily stamp images on top of each other using the gelatos, as you can see I did with the leaves. I added some spritzes of black mist, just because I thought it needed it as a finishing touch.

045

While I was playing around with my gelatos, trying to come up with just the right amount of water to use, etc. I came up with this more saturated flower image. Even though it wash’t what I was going for, it was too pretty to throw away. So I decided to use it to make another card.

I paired it with a leftover piece of card stock that I had die cut those little hearts from that you saw on this card. I taped the die cut piece over the card base and sprayed it with yellow and white mist, leaving the pretty misted hearts on the background.

041I loved the way it looked with the bright pink flower. I added some bright green leaves, also from the same Avery Elle set, to accent it.

043Some black twine, a few little gems, and a small stamped sentiment, also from the Petals and Stems set, complete this card.

When I finished making these cards I noticed that not only did I use my new Avery Elle stamps on each of these, but they all feature pretty much the same color scheme. They all have a soft grey background with pinks, white, and soft yellow. It just seemed fitting to me to feature all of these in one blog post instead of showing them to you individually.

I had a blast playing around with things on my desk. I hope you enjoyed seeing the results.

Right now we’re being blasted with another snow storm. the kids are home from school (again!), and my husband stayed home from work (yay!).  It’s gorgeous outside. I think we’re expected to get around a foot of snow with this storm. I have plenty to keep me busy while we’re stuck at home, so I’m not worried. I’d like to make some fresh cinnamon rolls, work on my scarp booking, practice my Life Scripted class assignments, help the kids with an art activity, and get started on painting my son’s room. I think I’d have enough to keep busy to be snowed in for a week!

Here’s a photo I snapped this morning of two of my kids out having fun in the snow.

050Right now they’re inside working on their school work, trying to stay caught up. I love days like this! We have a good fire going in the fireplace, the snow looks so pretty outside while it stays warm inside, and I have all my loved ones with me under the same roof. Plus, there’s always lots of coffee to consume. I think this has been such an awesome winter so far. Not a stitch of yucky brown grass to be seen anywhere. I love the snow!!

I hope you all are having a lovely day! Thanks so much for stopping by!

 

5 thoughts on “On My Desk: Avery Elle

  1. Lynda says:

    I’m here visiting from AE because I wanted to see how you made the middle card. I’ve never used Gelatos & love the way yours worked! It surprises me that you made such pretty cards as you were cleaning up too!

  2. Vidya says:

    Your cards look absolutely lovely. I do own the set- Petals and Stems but never get a clean stamped image. It always leaves a spot without ink.( a new one every time) It is highly frustrating. Any tips?

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

