Makeover Monday- paper strip roses


Hi again everyone! I hope your having a fantastic Labor Day (if you’re in the USA). We’re soon going to be heading out for dinner, but I wanted to quickly post this before I leave my scrap area for the day.

Today’s Makeover Monday tutorial is really fun. I came up with these beautiful roses one day while I was playing around with some pieces of leftover patterned paper.
There are so many ways to make flowers to add to your paper craft projects, but I’m going to show you just one more. These are fun because they look a little like antique roses when you’re finished.

First off, here’s what you’ll need. A circle punch slightly smaller then the size you want your finished flower to be, a strip of patterned paper (12″ long and about 2-2 1/2″ wide), a piece of scrap card stock, and adhesive.
020

Begin by punching a circle out of your piece of scrap card stock. This will be the base on which you will build your flower.
021

Take your piece of patterned paper and tear it into strips about 3/4″ wide. You’ll need two strips.
022

023

On the backside of each patterned paper strip place adhesive along the right edge only, leaving the left edge free of any adhesive.
024

Take one of the patterned paper strips and begin attaching it to the outside edge of the punched circle, leaving the adhesive-free part extend out over the edge about 1/4″. Keep on folding the paper strip around the circle as you go.
025

026

Once you get the whole way around, keep going with the paper strip just inside the first layer.
027

Once you finish with the first strip, begin with the second one, folding it a little where the last one stopped to hide the ends. Keep going until you get to the middle. You might need more than two strips of patterned paper, or less, depending on the size of your flower.
028

Now go back and fold the edges up slightly to give your flower depth and dimension.
029

It should look something like this.
030

Add something fun to the center, such as a brad, like I did here. Or try a button, some gems or pearls.
031

Here’s one I did using the same patterned paper and added some American Crafts Flair to the center.
035
Here’s one in a different color that I added to a card.

033

Isn’t it pretty?
034

You can get so creative with this. Make tiny ones, make really big ones. Ink the edges for even more interest. I was wondering how I could make these so I could attach them to a head band. Maybe spray them with some kind of varnish or something. So fun!

So whaddya think? If you try your hand at making these I’d love to see them. Leave a comment here on this post with a link to your paper strip flower so I can ooh and aah over it, OK?

Later dearies!

8 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- paper strip roses

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!