Food on the brain, apparently!


I love Thanksgiving!! I love the food. I can hardly wait for stuffing (or filling, as it’s often called here in Lancaster) and sweet potatoes. I hope they’re on the menu this year. I don’t know, because I’m not hosting. My mother-in-law is hosting. But one thing I do know, is that anything my mother-in-law makes will be delicious. And I can’t wait to eat Thanksgiving dinner. It’s my favorite meal of the whole entire year.  And I’m sure I’m not alone in that sentiment. Am I right?

What are some of your favorite Thanksgiving dishes? Have any that are a must have? Any that will find your way to the table just because they are tradition?

Since I have Thanksgiving dinner on my mind, I figured it would be a great day to share a few recipes I’ve tried this week that were big hits in our house. They’re not Thanksgiving foods, per se, but you could make them part of your Thanksgiving meal/day, if you wish.

~ Breakfast ~

6494

Since we all know breakfast is the most important meal of the day, let’s start of with this recipe for slow cooker Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats. The fact that I could mix these up in my crock pot the night before and wake up to breakfast already made was just awesome to me.  I have one in our family who isn’t a fan of steel cut oats, so he was not impressed by this dish at all. But all the rest of us steel cut oats lovers thought these were amazing. They tasted a bit like apple crisp. I added a little bit more liquid to make sure it would’t burn overnight, since this was my first time trying it out. But I don’t think i would have needed to.

You could make this the night before Thanksgiving and wake up to a healthy and delicious breakfast already made. It’s a great time saver. especially if you already have a lot of other food to prepare.

~ Dinner ~

dsc_0079

I made this recipe for Braised Chicken Thighs with Mushrooms and Creamy Polenta for dinner one night this week, but it totally could work as a nice alternative to the traditional Thanksgiving meal. Especially if you use turkey thighs instead of the chicken. And especially if you’re only cooking for about 4 people. I love polenta. It’s easy and quick to cook, and is a nice alternative side dish to potatoes or rice. The mushrooms were so good, and the entire dish together was amazing. Serve with a tossed green salad and you’re good to go!

~ Dessert ~

Lunch_Lady_Brownies4-678x1024

I don’t make many desserts besides baking once or twice a week. These Lunch Lady Brownies taste almost like another recipe I’ve made before that my husband tells me I’m no longer allowed to make, because they’re so good! If you do make these, be sure to have lots of people around to share them with, because you will be tempted to eat the entire pan. And we can’t have that, can we?

Just to give you an idea of how delicious these are…I’ve been putting these in my kids’ lunch boxes this week, and today my son came home and asked how he could hide his brownie at lunch time. Apparently he has a few classmates who like to steal them. If he doesn’t eat his brownie at first break it gets taken out of his lunch box while he’s eating his lunch. Haha!! We’re not mad. We know these kids and they are his friends. It’s just funny that they know to take his desserts. Maybe their moms need to bake these so they stop stealing them from my son. 🙂

And you can’t speak about food and Thanksgiving dinners without thinking about decorating your table. Since I’m not hosting, I didn’t bother getting out my Thanksgiving table decor this year. In fact, I’ve already begun to decorate it for Christmas. But in case you need an idea and maybe are new to my blog since then. here’s a link to my thanksgiving tablescape from last year.

GB3

Thanks so much for joining me today. I hope you all have a lovely weekend. I will be back next week with more projects I’ve been working on, as well as some ideas for Christmas. I can’t wait!

Happy weekend!

 

 

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

