watercolor autumn leaves


IMG_9785

Last week I went out on a little nature stroll with my camera to try to capture some of the beauty of the autumn season. I headed out soon after the kids got on the bus when the morning sun was at its best. It was so pretty, and I determined that I really need to do that more often. It’s such a great way to not only capture your surroundings at different times, but to also grow in your photography skills.

My goal is to not only capture the changing landscapes as the seasons change around me, but to train my eye to pay attention to the details, to not capture the same things over and over, but to try to see something new, or even just something I’ve photographed before, but to see it in a different way.

I want to challenge myself to do this in different seasons, and at different times of the day. To work at noticing the way the lighting changes as the day unfolds, but also as the seasons change. To a photographer, being able to see the light is of utmost importance, so I’m trying hard to work at training my eyes to be able to see the light and how it effects the thing I am trying to photograph.

I loved the way the bright yellow leaves looked as the morning sun shone on them. I took many photos that day, but I chose to print this one out to scrapbook because I really wanted to pair it up with some watercolored leaves I had been playing around with.

IMG_9774

I cut these leaves out with my Silhouette from watercolor paper, then added the color with some distress inks. I added some darker splatters of ink after the initial colors were dry.

These were such fun to make, and I felt like the crinkly watercolor leaves captured the feel of the crunchy, colorful leaves underfoot as I took my walk.

IMG_9779

I kept the rest of the page fairly clean to keep the focus on the pretty leaves, both in the photo and the watercolored ones. I added a bit of stamping with the leaves and words in black to add contrast, and the wood grain paper and cork accents for warmth.

Now that its getting colder here, I’m hoping to head out one morning to capture some frost photos. And then snow? Who knows.

I had such fun taking these photos and making this page. Fall is my favorite time of year, and I feel like this page really shows it. This is my happiness on a page. The glow of the autumn leaves, the warm sunshine, the watercolor leaves, the touch of black. It’s all so me, and it makes me happy to look at it.

I’ll be back soon to share more projects made with those watercolor leaves that I had so much fun making.

Thanks for joining me today!

 

2 thoughts on “watercolor autumn leaves

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

