Feet. Telling the story.


I love reading Ashley Campbell’s blog. I’ve been reading it for years. I adore Ashley’s amazing photos of her family and how she captures the essence of them so well. I always come away from reading her blog feeling inspired to take more every day photos of my family. I often forget to bring the camera out and capture those simple, normal, every day pieces of life. I’m trying to do more of that, and it’s mostly because of Ashley.

I was so inspired by this post of Ashley’s that I read a few days ago. I thought it was a brilliant idea to focus on one thing to tell a story. In this case, feet. I tucked the idea away in my mind to pull out sometime.

Yesterday my mother-in-law, my two sisters-in-law, our children and I headed to the park for the day. I grabbed my camera, because taking photos of children at play is one of my favorite photography subjects. Halfway through the morning I remembered Ashley’s post and how I wanted to use her idea, so I began to change my perspective and started trying to capture our day by photographing the feet of my kids and nieces and nephews as they enjoyed their day.

I know I’m nowhere nearly as talented of a photographer as Ashley is, but I ended up loving these photos so much that i decided I’d share them here with you in hopes that it inspires you to try a different perspective in your photography.

IMG_1549

 

IMG_1591

 

IMG_1594

IMG_1595

 

IMG_1598

 

IMG_1603

 

IMG_1620

 

IMG_1625

 

IMG_1627

 

IMG_1629

 

IMG_1632

 

IMG_1637

 

IMG_1638

 

IMG_1649

 

IMG_1654

IMG_1656

 

This was so much fun that I know I will have to do it again! Not only did it stretch me creatively, but I love how it captures the story in a unique way. It was fun to try out new angles. Lots of times I jus set my camera down on the ground and snapped away.

Thank you, Ashley, for the fun photo tip!

 

6 thoughts on “Feet. Telling the story.

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Hi Nora!

      Thanks so much! It was fun. You should try it anyway, even though your daughter is 14. I took some photos of my boys’ feet and they are 13 and 16. How about taking photos of her feet in the pool, next to your for size comparison, in her favorite slippers, playing sports, dancing, barefoot in the grass, propped up while watching TV, etc. It could turn out to be really fun! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts. Have a great weekend! Brenda Weaver

      On Fri, Jul 10, 2015 at 7:22 PM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

  1. Crystal says:

    Brenda! I love how you captured the fun day in a new way. From feet at the picnic table to feet on the scooter. Just stunning work! Good job!

  2. emily says:

    This is an awesome post!!! I also love Ashely Ann. 😉 I aspire to be her some day…you know, even though she is younger than I am! 😉

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

