Young, Wild, Free


NGBJune

It’s been a while since I’ve done some scrapbooking. But when I had the Gossamer Blue June kits and a handful of new photos of my kids on my desk, I took the opportunity to make a few pages.

The kids and I headed out for a photo shoot a few weeks before school was over. I had planned to take their photos near the beginning of the school term when all the school pictures were being taken. The only school photo I order is a class photo, because I have a thing against paying an outrageous amount of money for less than stellar studio photos that I could do a better job on for a lot less money.

But, as things go, I didn’t get around to taking them in the fall. Then winter came, and I thought we could head to a nearby train station and take some nice indoor photos. But that never happened either. So, when the end of the school year rolled around, and my son had just turned 16, I gave myself a kick in the butt and finally took a Saturday afternoon to take some photos. And it was really fun! At these ages, the kids are nice and cooperative. Haha! No candy bribes needed, although I did reward them with frozen yogurt afterward, since getting photos taken is still a dreaded task that took waaaay too long for some of them!

NwildfreeGBJune

My 16 year old, with his beloved guitar. he’s always strumming and singing, sometimes late into the night and I have to get bossy with him about it so he gets the sleep he needs. But it’s cool that he likes to play so much.

GBJuenNcloseup

I love the colors in the June kits. They are SO. me! I love how they look with the black and white photos. The colors and black and white play off each other. I had fun arranging all the little bits and pieces from the kits. Tags and wood veneer, and chipboard accents. So fun!

And this time my scrapbooking felt right. probably because I love these photos of my son so much.

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Young, Wild, Free

  1. JeanD says:

    We didn’t do the official photo either – too artificial. My boys are men now and I don’t miss those photos at all. The ones my husband took are much more reflective of their personality and stage in life. Love your page, they are great colours. Hope he continues to love the guitar, being able to play music is a gift for more than the player.

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Hi Jean!

      thanks so much! Yes, i agree that music is a gift for both the player and the listener. He’s been able to bless others through this gift already, so I’m excited to see how God will use it.

      Have an awesome week! Brenda

      On Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 5:57 AM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

