card process with Gossamer Blue


In case you missed it, I shared a card last week on the Gossamer Blue blog, showing my card process from start to finish. I nearly forgot to share it here with you, so here it is.

Card process from start to finish:

I asked the question on the forum not too long ago about what kinds of things you all would like to see as far as card making goes. One of the responses suggested a start to finish tutorial on my card making process.

I’ve been making cards for quite a while now, and it comes pretty naturally to me. But, for those of you who are just getting started in card making, or maybe have no idea where to begin, I thought it would be fun to take you through my thought process when I sit down to make a card.

GBApril1

Probably at least 90% of the time I begin with certain products I’d like to use. Especially when making cards with my Gossamer Blue kits. I pull out a few certain things, see if any of them spark an idea, and go from there.

This time I knew I wanted to use these wood veneer pieces from Crate Paper that came in the Life Pages Theme add-on this month. I thought they’d look great paired with the Crate Paper puffy stickers that come in the Main Kit. I also really wanted to use that “wonderful” card.

I also had a basic layout concept in mind. Sometimes I do, and other times I just play around with it until an idea comes to mind.
I also knew I wanted to incorporate some machine stitching somewhere. I wasn’t sure if I actually would, but that was on my list.

GBApril2

Then I pulled out a few more items from my April kits that I thought I might use for my card. I often make a little pile of stuff I think I might use and just go from there. Sometimes I use the things on the pile, sometimes not.

GBApril3

I love the blue card stock from the April Main Kit. It’s such a pretty shade. So I chose to use that for my card base.

GBApril4

Then I began to just play around with placement. I placed the card over to the right to create a space for the veneer pieces. Nothing is adhered down at this point. I’m just experimenting.

GBApril5

I cut apart the little puffy stickers, leaving them adhered to the sheet so I could move them around to figure out where I want them without committing.

GBApril6

Once I was happy with the placement of all my elements I began to adhere them.
I also added a bit of machine stitching to the card and selected a little phrase sticker to add to it.

And I didn’t take a photo of this, but I also decided I wanted to add a little piece of floral patterned paper to the right side of the card. Sometimes that happens. I change my mind about something after I have everything glued down. Fortunately, the little puffy stickers peeled up easily so I could tuck my patterned paper strip underneath without a problem.

And here’s the final results:

GBApril7

So, you can see I didn’t use all of the items I picked out at the beginning. That’s OK. I tend to not use a ton of different products on my cards most of the time, but prefer to stick with three or four different items. Using more than that feels overwhelming to me. But that’s just my personal preference.

I hope you found this helpful. If you have any questions at all about card making or my process, please feel free to leave your questions in the comments below. And if you have any other suggestions on what kinds of things you’d like to see regarding card making, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

