Watercolor stripes background



IMG_0033

Hello, friends! I’m glad to be here with you on a Monday again, for a change. I realize my blogging has been sporadic lately. I’m past apologizing for that. While I’d love to spend more time crafting and blogging, I am kept very busy with my family these days.

My kids are at very active stages of their lives. One is about to turn 16 in just a few weeks! I am kept hustling, trying to manage schedules, playing chauffeur, cooking enough food to keep their tummies full (which is a monumental task these days, considering teenage boys are almost always hungry). There are more things on our schedule, more laundry to do, more dishes to wash, more food to cook and more groceries to buy. There are bigger problems to address these days than there were when they were little. These are young people trying to figure their way around this big world. Sometimes it’s hard to keep up.

But it’s a season. Just a season. And I have to constantly remind myself of that. The day will come when I will have more time to devote to the things I want to do. But for now, I often have a teenage boy in my kitchen late at night when all I want to do is go to bed. But he’s looking for food and someone to listen to the thing he finds interesting at the moment. And I would be unwise to shut him out.

So anyway….life is full, and busy, and good. We just came through an extremely hectic season that stretched from before Christmas to now. Our schedules were.so.full. Our weekends left little time to relax. I felt stretched in so many ways, barely able to breathe. But it has lifted a little, some things have come to an end for the time being,  and I feel like maybe now I can focus on all the winter projects that are still left undone and catch up on some of my craft projects. Deep breaths!

OK, about the card. I made this card for Paper Crafts and Scrapbooking magazine’s special issue of Card Creations Volume 13. However, it never got to be in print because the magazine closed down before that issue went to press. Amanda Coleman and I collaborated on a submission project where we designed cards together. I based this card off of a card she made. We originally planned to post our cards on the same day, but that hasn’t worked out. I found this card stuck inside a drawer, all forgotten, and figured I should just pull it out and share it with you.

IMG_0034

I know this card is more fitting for the fall season, which is about when the issue would have been out on the shelves, I think. But the idea is a fun one, and it’s easy enough to change it to suit your needs. Amanda’s card featured a background made from grey and white striped patterned paper. I chose to mimic that by creating watercolored stripes instead. All you need is a wide brush to use for the stripes, and keep the stripes as equally distanced apart as you can. The beauty of watercoloring them is that if it’s not perfect it doesn’t matter.

I absolutely loved how the watercolor stripes turned out, and I hope to use this idea on a future project. The background gives the card enough interest so that i felt I could keep the embellishments at a minimum.

I hope you like the watercolored stripes background idea. It’s a great way to create a custom background for your projects. You could change the color of the paint, the width or direction of the stripes, or even create a plaid background by pairing multiple stripes in different colors, widths and directions. The possibilities are endless.

Have fun!

 

6 thoughts on “Watercolor stripes background

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    This is so pretty! I love the watercoloring and splatter and the colors. Enjoy this season. I have little ones, but I’m still amazed at how quickly the time goes!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Thank you, Miriam!

      Yes, time goes so quickly. Seems like such a short time ago that mine were as young as yours. It doesn’t take long until they hit the teen years and then soon they’ll be as tall as you and you’ll wonder how the heck that happened! Each season is a joy and a gift. Enjoy your little ones. And hold them while they still fit in your lap 🙂

      Brenda

      On Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 1:40 PM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Wow! 20! Happy birthday to your oldest! You don’t look old enough yourself to have a 20 year old! I know I will be at that stage before long.

      Thanks so much for your comment, Amy! I hope you have a fantastic week! Brenda

      On Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 6:55 PM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

  2. JeanD says:

    I love the stripes too, they could be any colour and the cluster could so easily be changed for another theme – such a versatile idea. You just keep spending your time with your kids, they will be gone all too soon, my baby gets married in 2 weeks and it seems like no time since he was little. Every stage is wonderful and precious.

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Jean,

      Thanks so much for your comment! Congratulations on the upcoming marriage of your youngest! I can understand why you say it feels like he was little not too long ago. It really does happen in the blink of an eye, doesn’t it? These days are fleeting, and I do want to enjoy them as much as possible.

      Blessings to you! Brenda

      On Tue, Mar 24, 2015 at 5:34 AM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

