Make Your Own Pocket Page Scrapbooking Cards


Hey guys! I shared this post over on the Gossamer Blue blog yesterday. But in case you missed it, I’m sharing it here as well.

Pocket Page scrapbooking is a really big deal these days. And each month you can get your own exclusive Gossamer Blue pocket page scrapbooking card inserts with our Life Pages kits and add-ons.

But what about the times when you just don’t have the right one in your stash that you’re looking for? Well, it’s very simple and easy to whip up your own in no time at all. I’m going to share some fun and easy ways to create your own Life Pages cards to perfectly coordinate with the theme and /or color scheme of your page.

Stamps:

MarchGB1 copy

Each month the Gossamer Blue kits include an exclusive stamp set. And many times these are perfect for making Life Pages cards.
Here I used just one of the stamps from the Life Pages kit stamp set and stamped it multiple times to cover my entire card. I use a different color ink on two lines for a little interest and added some cute little enamel hearts. Easy peasy, right? This is a great way to stretch those smaller stamps a little further too. This is only one of the stamps from the set, so you could repeat this idea with all the other stamps in the set, or come up with other ways to use them on your life Pages cards.

Watercolor:

MarchGB2 copy

This is probably my very favorite way to make my own Life Pages cards. I love watercoloring, and making a fun watercolor card to add to your album is so simple and fun.
I pressed an ink pad onto my acrylic stamping block, then used a wet paint brush to brush it onto a 3”x4” piece of watercolor paper that I had already made wet with my paint brush. You can watercolor onto a dry piece of paper, but I wanted an ombre look, and the wet paper helps the watercolors to move across the paper better.

MarchGB3 copy

After my watercolors were dry, I added a little stamping on the lighter section of the card.

But don’t waste the excess ink you have on your acrylic block! All that wet, blotchy ink is perfect for smooshing onto another card to make another water color effect.

MarchGB4

Make sure the inks are nice and wet. Spritz your block with a little more water if you need to. The more water you use, the less vibrant your inks will be. But don’t use too much, or you’ll just have a wet mess. You want just enough water to cause the inks to be able to move around on the paper. You can also dry the paper with your heat gun and then smoosh it into the ink again. Do it as many times as you like until you achieve the desired results. The fun thing about this effect is that you really have no idea how it will turn out. It’s always a surprise.

MarchGB5

Handwriting:

March GB6

Pull out some of your large brush or calligraphy pens and hand write the perfect phrase on your Life Pages card. You may want to practice first on a scrap piece of paper, but this is a fun way to add a personal and unique element to your album.

Confetti cards:

MarchGB7

I love confetti and shaker cards in my albums! They are just so much fun! And this month there were some fantastic sequins included in the Bits & Pieces kit, which were just perfect for making a sequin shaker card. I pulled out some printed vellum from a previous kit, and some plain vellum from my stash. I stitched the two pieces of vellum together on three side, added my sequins, then stitched the fourth side shut.

Layers:

MarchGB8

I tend to like to keep my pocket page scrapbooking cards a little more on the simple side, but if that’s not your thing, feel free to add lots of layers.
Here I added a few pieces of patterned paper, a cork tag, a die cut heart, some enamel shapes, and a tiny tag from the On My Desk collection. The cool thing about making your own Life Pages cards is that you can make them as simple or complex as you desire.

Die cuts:

MarchGB9

Our Gossamer Blue kits come with a fantastic selection of exclusive die cut files each month. The little cards included with the March cut files are just perfect for creating your own die cut Life Pages cards. It doesn’t get an easier than this! I simply cut mine out and layered it over another piece of card stock. You could also add some embellishments, but I chose not to.

I added all my cards to my Word of the Year album. I plan to use them here and there throughout my album as I see fit. Here’s a look at them all together.

MarchGB10

March GB11

MarchGB12

See how easy it is to create your own Life Pages cards to add to your albums and other projects? I hope you’ll have fun making some unique and interesting Life Pages cards of your own. I’d love to hear which technique you’d most like to try.

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Pocket Page Scrapbooking Cards

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

