Color Theory class- complimentary colors & stamping


sneakslide

I’m enjoying the Color Theory Class with Wilna Furstenburg so very much! Wilna has been a favorite of mine for quite a while now, and this is the second class of hers I’ve taken.  She’s not only brilliant, but her voice and accent is such fun to listen to.

This class is all about color, of course. And for the second lesson we focused on using complimentary colors and the stamping into paint technique.

I made two cards this time to focus on each part separately.

This first card uses complimentary colors, which are colors that are opposite each other on a color wheel. In this case, yellow and purple.

IMG_9937

I painted some yellow paint onto my stamp instead of using ink. This creates such  fun effect. Much more random and uneven. I like this technique too, because I can choose where I will place my paint on the stamp. I didn’t cover the entire thing, but left some parts bare.

IMG_9941

I found out that (like my red accents), I also do not have many purple scrapbooking supplies. That’s not because I don’t like purple, but because not many manufacturers use a lot of purple in their designs. I like some shades of purple and lavender better than others, but I like it pretty much overall. I especially like it paired with bright yellow.  I think more purple should be used in paper crafting products. It could be gorgeous paired with grays and other neutrals, or an orchid shade could look so awesome with shades of pinks. I saw a cute top at Old Navy yesterday that had neon pinks in the pattern and it was paired with a lavender sweater. I wouldn’t have thought to pair those two colors in a million years, but it looked so pretty! That could look great on a card or page, don’t you think?

Anyway, I digress.

This next card was not made with complimentary colors, but it does incorporate the stamping into paint technique.

IMG_9942

 

It’s a messy, and heavily textured card, but I love that! The dry paint just begs to be touched. I didn’t have a roller stamp, so I used some clear stamps instead. Either works just fine for this technique.

IMG_9944

I finished it off with some black ink spatters, sequins in coordinating colors, and some word stickers. goodness, I just love all that texture! Isn’t it fun?

I’m a little on behind in my homework for this class (surprise, surprise). There wasn’t a whole lot of extra time in my schedule to play this week. But I’ll be back to share more next week. This is such a fun class, and I want to try to create something for each assignment. We’ll see if that happens or not.

I hope you’ll plan to stop by on Saturday for our monthly Gossamer Blue Design Team Inspiration blog hop. It will be a fun time. See you then!

 

One thought on “Color Theory class- complimentary colors & stamping

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    Gorgeous cards! I’ve been wanting to take one of Wilna’s classes for a while…just need to find the time!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

