Journaling Bible- This is Eternal Life


IMG_9644

Hi everyone! I feel a little scattered on the blog front lately. I’ve been meaning to share my latest Journaling Bible entry with you for a little while now, but life kept on getting in the way.

But this one is about a verse that has grown in meaning to me over the last year or so. When we think about Jesus dying on the cross for our sins so we can have eternal life, what do you think of? For most of my life, eternal life, to me, meant that I would be able to spend eternity in heaven with Christ after I die, or Jesus returns, whichever comes first. And that’s true. It is what eternal life means. At least partly.

IMG_9648

But this verse, found in John 17:3 says this “Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.” So, according to this verse, we get to experience eternal life here, on this side of heaven. Eternal life is truly knowing the One True God, and His Son, Jesus Christ. Not just knowing about Him. Not just attending church, or mass each week. Not just being outwardly religious. But eternal life is found in KNOWING God!! It’s God’s heart that we would truly know him and His Son, Jesus. That is why Jesus came, so we could know God and be reconciled to Him. And when we do, we find eternity planted in our hearts.

IMG_9647This is exciting, right? It’s exciting that the the eternal, true God finds his home in people like you and me. It’s exciting to me that God wants us to know Him so much that He willingly sent His one and only Son to die for us so we could know Him. How’s that for your Father’s heart? He already knows you. Everything about you. He wants you and me to truly know Him and his Son, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit on a personal and intimate level. Not just as some big guy in the sky, or some god far removed from humanity, or someone stern, harsh, and difficult to please. If that was how he is, he would’t have sacrificed his son for you! His son wouldn’t have willingly died in your place! He loves you and me so intensely and wants you to know him back!

I encourage you to dig into the Word of God and find for yourself the truths that are in there. God’s love for you and me is written all over the pages. Seek Him with your whole heart and seek to know Him on an intimate level. He longs to commune with you and me. To live in us, to work in us and through us to show Himself to a hurting world.

For this page I used a mixture of old letter stickers, rub-ons, die cuts, stamps, hand lettering and print outs from Shanna Noel’s blog that I printed out onto vellum. I’m finding that this is a great way to use up some of those supplies that have been sitting here for a while, unnoticed. I went with a pink, yellow, and black color scheme with woodgrain accents this time.

What do you think of this verse? Has this verse spoken to you at all in any way? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

2 thoughts on “Journaling Bible- This is Eternal Life

  1. Ashley Lydia says:

    WOW , thank you so much for sharing this ! I have never seen this done before but it’s brilliant! That verse is beautiful….such a selfless love that God sent his son to die so that we may live eternally with him… I have been meaning to read my bible more often and was doing better and then this week happened, and I was slacking and your blog post has really touched me and stirred up my spirit. THank you!
    Hugs-Ashley

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Hi Ashley!

      First of all, I’m so sorry for taking so long to respond. I’ve been away all weekend and just sat down at my computer. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by my blog and to leave such sweet, encouraging words! It makes me so happy to hear that my Journaling Bible has inspired you to read yours more. That is definitely the goal of sharing these posts on my blog.

      I totally understand life getting in the way of us getting in the Word, but sometimes those are the times I find that I need it the most. Blessings to you as you dig into the Word of God and grow in your relationship with your Father!

      Hugs Brenda

      On Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 10:17 PM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

