Christmas Advent Boxes



output_RSNCCt

 

I wanted to share these advent boxes with you a few days ago, but the time got away from me. I’ve been scurrying around, making sure the kids all have something to wear for their Christmas programs and recitals this weekend and working on a craft I’ll be sharing at an event next week. I didn’t get these finished until December 1st, so I was running behind from the start. There’s supposed to be music playing with this GIF, but it’s not working. I’m not sure why.

We’re ready to open day 5 now, and so far we’ve opened:

day 1- a box of Lindor truffles (one of my favorites)

day 2 (we switched day 2 and day 3) more treats

day 3- fleece fabric to make scarves to hand out at a shelter. We didn’t make them yet.

day 4- a gingerbread village kit (I’m not even going to pretend I’m that super mom who bakes and cuts out all her own gingerbread. I’ve never even made gingerbread!)

day 5 (today)- we’ll open popcorn and snacks for a family movie night. Although I’m not sure our schedule will allow that to happen tonight.

Thoughts on the advent boxes so far:

1. My kids are older (ages 15, 13, and 9). They are not all into the advent boxes. And at 15 and 13 years old, it’s OK. I totally get it. But I’m still choosing to do this for the sake of the 9 year old. The 13 year old is still somewhat interested. Especially when treats are involved. And he did get excited about the gingerbread village. But I don’t want the youngest to miss out on special things, just because her older brothers have outgrown it. I did special things for them when they were younger that she wasn’t fully able to participate in. I plan to do things like this as long as she is interested. Then I will do it for grandchildren once they come along. LOL! I know, let’s not push it!

2. I wanted to include some treats, like the chocolates, but not all candy and sweets. Heaven knows we already get plenty of that around the holidays. I also wanted to include some small gifts for the kids and some service projects, like the scarves. I didn’t want the focus to be only on them and what they will get out of it, but to think of ways we can bless others during this time of year. I have to admit, there wasn’t a whole lot of excitement over the scarves. But I think we can make it a fun family project. I don’t know if we’ll be able to fit it in any time in the next few weeks, but I figured it’s ok if it gets done after Christmas is over too.

3. I kept all of these very simple. Not too fussy. For one, I didn’t have a lot of time to work on these. With hosting Thanksgiving, then spending the next couple of days with family, my time was limited. But isn’t everybody’s? Keep it simple. The kids are only going to rip it open and destroy it anyway.

4. I really planned out what day included what. In fact, it was more of a challenge than I thought it would be. I wanted to make sure that I gave the project ones on days where we’d have our evenings free so we could work at them right away (although so far that hasn’t panned out). I kept the ones they could enjoy right away (like candy and small gifts) for the days I knew we’d have other things going on. Our schedule is pretty tight over the next couple of weeks, and this turned out to be more challenging than I thought.

5. You can see that I used a mixture of boxes, bags, and envelopes. The envelopes are holding either tickets for an event to enjoy together, or instructions for a service project.

Anyway, I will share more as we go along. What I think worked and what didn’t. I’d love to hear any thoughts or questions you may have, or ideas you’ve used for your advent projects.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

6 thoughts on “Christmas Advent Boxes

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    These boxes are beautiful! Wonderful details! Love that you are still doing advent for your nine year old, and that the older ones are playing along.

  2. Sarah says:

    Such a very neat idea! There’s something special about even those simple ideas when you can all be involved as a family.

  3. marygw says:

    This is such a great idea. I am 63. My daughter sends me an Advent box and I am like a 9 year old when I open it each day. I love that you are already planning to make them for your grandchildren.

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Carol! How exciting to be able to share things like this with your little granddaughter! That sounds like a lot of fun! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

      Brenda

      On Wed, Dec 17, 2014 at 11:10 AM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote: > >

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

