Decorating the Thanksgiving Table


For this month’s team blog post  at Gossamer Blue, I knew I wanted to work with the Gramercy Road collection to create some kind of table decor for Thanksgiving. The colors and patterns in the Gramercy Road line are just perfect for autumn projects.

I really enjoy creating a nice table spread a couple of times a year. Usually for important holidays, like Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. There’s just something about a nicely dressed table that makes things feel so much more special.

I kept things fairly simple, because I know the holidays can get so hectic. And, even though I want the table to look nice, I don’t want it to be very time consuming to get it that way. I made all these decorations (plus staged and photographed them) in one morning. So when I say they don’t take a lot of time, I really mean it.

I wanted to create something for each family member’s place setting, so I made these pockets out of patterned paper to hold the silverware. You could also use these pockets to hold things besides silverware. Like a rolled up or folded napkin, a sheet of paper and a pen for writing down things you’re thankful for, or a special treat for each person.

GB1
These were so simple to make. I folded a piece of paper measuring 5″ x 12″ in half, folding the top down a bit, or trimming it (like you’ll see in the photos below) so that both sides of the gorgeous papers show.

I used my sewing machine to stitch the sides, but even if you don’t have a sewing machine, you can still make these. Just adhere the sides together with a strong adhesive, such as red liner tape,  instead of sewing them. Then I trimmed the edges with a pinking shears.

GB2

GB3

I love that the Gramercy Road line contains patterns and colors for everyone. I was able to make some nice masculine looking pockets for my husband and sons, but also make some more feminine looking ones for my daughter and myself.

GB4

GB5

 

GB6

 

 

GB7

Unknown

 

GB9

I added stamping to each of these pockets, in some way or another. I love the stamp set that coordinates with this line. I also added some of my own items, such as doilies, twine, and lace.

GB10

The place tags were the simplest project ever! I used the skinny labels and the rose gold foil alphabet stickers to create these. I simply stuck the alphabets onto the labels and then stitched them to help them stay in place. That’s it. You could also add these name tags to a small gift or favor packet. Or you could punch a hole in the end and thread twine through it to wrap around the silverware or a napkin, instead of using it like I did here.

GB11

I also used some of my supplies to dress up a candle for the table. Candles always make everything a little more special, and dressing up a candle to match your table decor is such a simple way to add a little extra something. Here a label, a strip of paper, a bit of lace, and a few stalks of wheat were all I used to take a plain candle up a few notches.

GB12

I love that I was able to create these projects early so I can have them set out on my dining room table for a few weeks. It makes me happy to walk into the room and see things looking all pretty and ready for the Thanksgiving feast.

If you have any questions at all about any of these projects, just leave a comment on the comments section below and I’ll be happy to answer any questions.

Thanks so much for joining me today!

IMG_9282

One thought on “Decorating the Thanksgiving Table

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

