On My Desk


 

 

IMG_8944
Last week I received a huge box of the new Gossamer Blue collections in the mail and I had such fun sorting through everything and checking it all out.

So yesterday I decided to take a break from my chores for a bit and just play with the new stuff. I pulled out the new On My Desk collection, which is just so lovely. It’s fresh with bright pops of orange, yellow and blue, offset by blacks and golds. There are wood veneer pieces, puffy stickers, the cutest little star enamel pieces ever, fabulous gold foil transparencies, and SO. MUCH.MORE! It’s really, really lovely! You can see all of it in the store here.

Some of the pieces are sold out. The new collections have been selling well, and it’s really no surprise. I haven’t met any piece of the new collections that I didn’t like! I really think Gossamer Blue hit it out of the park with their first collections and I’m sure we will only see more awesomeness from them in the future.

onmydesk

I was playing around with the little wood veneer pieces and settled on this cute little gem that caught my eye right away. I’ve been thinking that it would be great to pair with some “punny” sentiments. like this one. I typed out the sentiment on my typewriter and then just cut it out with a scissors so it would get just a little wonky. I wasn’t going for perfection here at all.

Then I added it to piece of patterned paper and layered more patterned papers and a piece of one of the transparencies underneath. I attached everything to a white 5″x5″ card base and added a few black ink splotches for good measure.

IMG_8957

I wanted to add more stitching, but my sewing machine needle broke and I discovered I had no replacements. So that little bit of stitching on top will have to do.

You wanna know something crazy? I bought myself a very nice sewing machine the year before I got married. I used to sew some of my own clothes back then. I used it to sew my wedding dress. Now it sits in my craft space, and I use more for sewing on my paper crafting projects than I do for anything else. I decided I really didn’t enjoy sewing clothes all that much after all, but I do enjoy adding stitching to my cards and pages. Go figure. It’s my most expensive paper crafting tool I own. Ha!

I’ve been just enjoying looking at the pretty new collections so much that I almost had to force myself to cut into them and use them. But no worries. I have plenty of projects to work on, so I’ll have to overcome it at some point. Do you have some favorites that you hate to use because you love them so much? What are some of your favorite products on the market right now? Any that you think I should check out? Please do share.

 

 

2 thoughts on “On My Desk

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    Love this card, fantastic layers! And I don’t think you’re crazy at all. My parents got me a really nice sewing machine when I turned 30…..I think my mom is appalled that it only gets used for sewing on paper!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Miriam, I’m glad i’m not the only one that uses an expensive sewing machine pretty much just for paper crafting. At least it’s not sitting there idle, right?

      I hope you’re having a great week. Thanks for always leaving such sweet and encouraging comments!

      Brenda

      On Wed, Oct 8, 2014 at 11:45 AM, Sweet Paper Treats wrote:

      >

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

