Journaling Bible- I am His!


So, WordPress just sent me a gentle reminder that I haven’t visited this place in a while. I guess that’s pretty bad when you have to be reminded to visit your own blog, right? I’ve been consumed lately. I haven’t been blogging, haven’t been on Facebook very much. My visits to Instagram and Pinterest have been minimal as well. I’ve been keeping my nose to the grind stone and focusing on the most important tasks at hand. Slowly I am chipping away at tasks that can’t wait, and I see the light at the end of the tunnel, I think. I think today I will focus on getting some of those few stubborn ones crossed off my list. My house may or may not get cleaned, but it can wait until next week, right. I’m laundering the bedding. That should count for something.

So, anyway, I’ve been enjoying my time with the Lord, but it’s been a little while since I’ve taken the time to do any Bible Journaling. This morning this verse stuck out to me and I was struck by how beautiful it is, so I sat down at my desk and made this page and thought I’d share it. I have some sneak peeks of some new Gossamer Blue coming up, but in the meantime I hope you’ll enjoy this.

IMG_8872

 

I went a bit of a different route this time. And what I mean by that is that I didn’t use any stickers or tags or anything like that, but decided to use mostly my own handwriting this time. I added some color by brushing on some spray mist. I feel like that helps add some color without saturating the thin pages too terribly much. Yes, there is a little bleed through from the color and marker, but it doesn’t bother me at all. If I should decide to do the other side of the page at some point I can simply cover it up.

I also sprayed the entire page with a clear spray that has a shimmer to it, because I really like the shine. It did make my page wrinkle a little, but that doesn’t really bother me too much either. I really try not to stress about it much. I do what comes to my mind and heart to do and just have fun with it and not worry too much about the end result.

IMG_8871

 

This verse is found in Isaiah 43:1. It says: But now this is what the Lord says- he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel; “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.”

I especially love the part that says “I have summoned you by name. You are mine.”

Just like a woman sold into sex slavery is only known to those who use and abuse her by the number she wears, and not her name. Like the person held captive in a prison camp wears a an identifying number on their body and are not known by name, but as just one  of the worthless many. Satan also attempts to strip us of our identity. We are not special to him. We are just one of the captives. A worthless thing to use and abuse.

But Jesus…..Jesus pays for our freedom with His own blood, calls us by name, and says we’re His. How beautiful is that kind of love! It takes my breath away!

Satan knows that when we find our identity in Christ, we find our voice. We find our power. He will do anything to keep us bound up. He will tell us all sorts of lies. He’ll tell us we’re worthless. That we’re alone. That no one really cares. That we’ve messed up so badly that we can no longer be useful. That we’re garbage. That we might as well not even try because it’s just too hard.

But Christ? He comes and says “This, dear one, is who you are. This is who I created you to be. You matter so much to me that I was willing to lay down my life for you and purchase your freedom with my own blood. You are not just one of the multitude of nameless souls. You are precious. I know your name. And you are mine.”

This is so exciting to me. And I pray that you would know how very much He loves you! He wants to set you free from whatever holds you bondage right now. He already knows your name. It’s on His heart. He wants to call you His and write your name down in His book.

IMG_8875

 

There’s lots going on this weekend with the family, so my mind is spinning in a lot of different directions. From a birthday party, to a camp out to stuff going on at church, we’ll be out and about a lot. Not much time to squeeze much in between different events. But, I will hopefully be stopping by with a few sneak peeks of the October Gossamer Blue kits. I have a few things left to finish up, but I think I can share a few tomorrow, so I hope you’ll stop back.

Thanks for joining me today and thank you for putting up with my sporadic blogging. Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

One thought on “Journaling Bible- I am His!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

