Blog tour


I was recently tagged by the sweet and super talented Beshka Keuser to do a favorite scrapbooker blog hop. Thanks, Beshka!! Be sure to check out her blog. Her photos are so inspiring to me.

IMG_8863

1. What am I working on right now?

I just finished a bunch of projects on my list, so now I’m ready to dive into my October kits for Gossamer Blue. That means lots of cards coming up. I don’t have anything started on my table yet, but that’s what is next on my list.

2. How long does it take to complete a project?

Hmmm…that depends. If I have an idea brewing, i can usually crank out a card in 15 minutes. A scrapbook layout in maybe 30. Sometimes it takes longer, depending on how things fall together.

3. What are my favorite things to create with at the moment? 

Wood accents. Gold anything. Brush script anything. My Gossamer blue kits. Love them. they make putting projects together so easy!

4. How does my writing/creative process work? 

I am usually inspired by a photo I’ve seen somewhere, like Pinterest, that I think would translate well into a paper crafted project, or I am inspired just by the product itself. Then I see how well that works out. Sometimes it comes out just like I imagined, but other times not. And that’s OK. I’m trying to be less structured and just go with it and see how things turn out. My process is more organic, these days I guess. More me, less copying others. I want to see what comes out of my own heart and head. That makes me happy.

5. How do I become inspired or stay inspired?

Well, I already mentioned Pinterest. That is my go-to place for inspiration. It’s not hard to get inspired. It’s the staying inspired that is harder for me. Sometimes other responsibilities steal my inspiration away before I have a chance to do anything about it. In a perfect world, I would be able to sit down immediately and work when inspiration strikes, but life happens, and that’s usually not the case. When I’m having a creative slump where inspiration just isn’t happening, it helps me to step away and take a break. I often doesn’t work well for me if I try to force it. So I will do things like head to the local book store and read a few magazines (home decor magazines are my favorite). Or work on a different kind of project other than paper crafting. Or I organize something in my home. When my home feels chaotic I find it harder to be inspired.

6. What is my signature style?

I’m not sure I can nail down my signature style. Do I have one? I don’t know. I feel like it’s always shifting and changing as my interests and things that inspire me change. I definitely like white space. I like things clean, but with a little twist thrown in. I like messy, but clean messy, does that even make sense? Probably not to anyone except me. It’s like my home. My goal is for it to be clean, but not sterile. Relaxed and simple, but not cluttered. Familiar and welcoming, but a little surprising. I like a bit of an eclectic feel. A bit of the unusual. Something unexpected to keep things interesting. Does my paper crafting style reflect that? I don’t know. You tell me?

How fun! Thanks, Beshka!

I am tagging the super sweet, funny and talented, Stephanie Howell.

6a00e551ef15fe883401a73e125cda970d-600wi

I’ve been reading Stephanie’s blog for years and she’s still one of my favorites to read. Her scrapbooking style is fun, laid back, and easy. I like that. She makes me laugh and cry with stories of her four sweet and sassy daughters and her life in Italy with her handsome soldier. I’ve felt a connection to her as a mom over the years, so it was so much fun for me to actually get to “meet” and connect with her through the Gossamer Blue design team.

And also the awesomely talented Danielle Flanders!

peace card1

Danielle has been a favorite card maker and scrapbooker of mine for years! I have many of her projects pinned to my inspiration board. Danielle has more talent packed into her little pinky than most of us do in our entire body. She’s on several popular design teams, including Gossamer Blue. Some people seem to run out of steam when they serve on several teams, but Danielle continues to crank out one stunning project after another. Her blog is such a treat to visit. You will be inspired, for sure!

I hope you’ll check out both of these awesome ladies! I’m thrilled to point you in their direction!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Blog tour

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

