Journaling Bible- Feet on a Rock


IMG_8653

 

I had more fun creating in my journaling Bible. Not only is this fun to me because I get to decorate my Bible while learning and growing in my faith, but it’s also a really quick and easy artistic fix. The smaller space makes it easy to do in just a few minutes.

My goal is not to spend a lot of time making my pages, but to keep them simple enough to do in spurts of 10-15 minutes at a time. The last thing I’d want is for a project like this to get cumbersome. After all, the goal is to spend time in the Word. This is only to help me remember what the Lord has been teaching me while enjoying connecting with Him through the creative process.

IMG_8643

This time I chose to highlight Psalm 40, verses 1-3.  These verses speak about how the Lord hears our cries and draws us up out of the slimy pit, out of the mire. When I reflect back on what God has brought me out of, what He has rescued me from, I am so thankful! I wasn’t into all kinds of “bad” stuff, like drugs, alcohol, etc. But He rescued me from the filth of my own anger and pride, my self centeredness, the pains of past hurts and insecurities. He heard my cry for deliverance from a depressed state of mind and and a feeling of being unloved and unworthy, and began a healing process in me that is still going on today. He created a safe place for my feet to land and began to show His Father heart of love to me. I am secure in Him and I have a firm foundation that will never be moved!

IMG_8644

 

I pulled out my seldom used chalks for this page. As you can see, I’ve had them for a while, but I don’t think to use them much anymore. But they were great for this project. The colors are subtle and transparent enough to allow the text to show through. I know some people cover up the text in their Bibles, but I just can’t bring myself to do that. I enjoy using mediums that still allow the text to show through. I created the diamond pattern by brushing the chalk over a stencil using just my finger and blending the colors together. I think I’ll have to try this on a scrapbook page now, because I love the effect.

If you have any questions or thoughts about my journaling Bible process, have thoughts to share on these Bible passages, or would like to share your testimony of God’s rescuing Grace, I’d so love to hear it. I always enjoy reading your comments!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Journaling Bible- Feet on a Rock

  1. yvonneweaver says:

    Yay, yAy, YAY….. I knew you would be awesome at Bible journaling. Way to rock it! This page is AmAzINg and so much fun. I love your blog and how you explained why you chose to highlight this passage.

  2. JeanD says:

    OK, so now you’ve convinced me that I “need” to try this. Like you I hope that it will help to make the word part of me. Love your idea of using the chalk. I like the look of stencils over words but I agree that I want to be able to read the words. Thanks for inspiring me. The verses you chose are wonderful.

  3. Sherrie Buras says:

    Love your journaling. I would like to get started and I really like the lay out of your bible. Could you please send me the kind (name) of your Bible. Where did you buy it? Thank you very much. I can’t wait to get started.

  4. Gloria says:

    Hi! I’m new to Bible journaling and really love your ideas..and your testimony! Like you, I can’t bring myself to cover up any of the Word, but enjoy studying and allowing my creative & artistic side to join in my studies! How do you keep your chalk from smearing or rubbing off on other pages without ruining the page itself? When I’ve used chalk s before I’d mist the project lightly with water or a spritz of hair spray for a print (not in a book).
    Keep sharing your testimony and the Lord will continue to use you for His glory! God bless you!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

