Let’s Celebrate


letscelebrate1

Hello there! So, this summer has been the record breaking summer for least amount of blog posts ever! Hah! I’m in full on vacation prep mode this week. We leave in a few days for a week at the beach. It’s a lot to prepare and think about when you plan to do most of your own cooking somewhere else for an entire week. Lots and lots and lots of list making going on here this week! Not to mention trying to fit in back to school shopping along with everything else.

But I wanted to share this fun birthday card I created recently with you. This is an idea I had for these stamps pretty much since I got them in my Stamping Royalty prize package and finally just now got around to executing.

The stamps I used for the cake layers come from the Tag Sayings stamp set from Simon Says Stamp. I simply stamped the solid and striped rectangle stamps on top of each other to create cake layers.

The “frosting” comes from the Mom & Dad Sentiments stamp set from Lil’ Inker Designs. I used a dark brown ink and stamped the scallop border stamp, leaving off the last three scallops, to make a pretty frosting-like edge to my cake layers. I stamped them a bit haphazardly for a more playful, and not too structured, look.

Instead of adding candles to the top of the cake, I decided instead to use this sentiment from the Birthday Sampler set from Paper Smooches.

I cut out a cake stand using my Silhouette cameo and popped it up with a bit of foam dimensional adhesive to make it stand out a bit, since it was white on white.

A little flower I’ve had in my stash for almost forever finishes off the pretty little birthday cake.

letscelebrate2

 

I have a few more cards to share that I made recently. I hope to share them with you before I leave on vacation, or schedule them to post for you while I’m gone.

I’ve made great headway on my photo organization! Yippee! I’m gearing up for lots of scrapbooking in the near future, so for those of you hoping to see more scrapbook pages, stay tuned!

Now I’m hungry for cake! Maybe I’ll go make some

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

