You & Me


IMG_8311

So, last weekend I spent the day scrapbooking with a bunch of scrapbooking friends of mine. It was a fun day. Lots of good food, giggles, and of course, scrapbooking. I was working on some simple designs, since I have a goal to get a lot completed this year. This page features some of the old photos I’m still working through in order to fill in some of the gaps in my scrapbooks.

This is a quick and simple page. A design that doesn’t take much forethought. Pretty much equally balanced on both sides and top to bottom. This is my little girl and her daddy. I love photos like this.

IMG_8314

I added some embellishment clusters on the top and bottom. A few enamel dots, some mist and a few embellishments from my Studio Calico kits. I actually cut that flower die cut in half so I’d have a piece for both the top and bottom. That’s a great way to stretch your die cut embellishments a little further.

IMG_8318

The fun part was layering the patterned papers behind the title cards. A fun way to use a lot of different papers on your page without it getting too overwhelming.  A hand drawn outline around the letters and the white paper mat helps bring it all together.

I welcome your questions about anything you see here on my blog and will do my best top answer them if I can. The other day I received a question from a reader on this post, and thought I’d answer it here in case anyone else deals with the same thing.

Vidya says:

“Your cards look absolutely lovely. I do own the set- Petals and Stems but never get a clean stamped image. It always leaves a spot without ink.( a new one every time) It is highly frustrating. Any tips?”

Thanks for your comment, Vidya. There are a few things I would encourage you to try to get a cleaner stamped image. One, when inking up a larger image, like those flowers, sometimes I find it easier to turn the stamp upside down and apply the ink that way, rather than trying to dab the stamp into the ink pad. Sometimes that helps me see if there are any bare spots missing ink. Sometimes I also give the stamp a wiggle or two when inking it up to make sure the ink is covering all the areas. Two, when stamping your image, it sometimes helps to place your paper over a softer surface, like a mouse pad or a pad of paper. I find that it sometimes helps me get a cleaner image. Also, make sure to give your stamp even pressure. This is a great tool for getting more even pressure on your stamped images. You may want to give that a try. Three, make sure your clear stamps are “prepped” before your first stamping. It helps to rub it gently with a pencil eraser, or even rubbing it over your clothes or a clean cloth to remove some of the manufacturing film. Another thing you can try, although I don’t recommend that you do it every time you stamp, is to first stamp into versa mark ink, then directly into the ink color of your choice. I hope that helps!

It’s going to be an exciting year here at Sweet Paper Treats. There are some things coming up that I am so excited to share with you.

Also, I’ve decided I will be moving my craft space upstairs, in case any of you care to know. I’m still working through it all in my head, but I hope to share the finished space with you sometime down the road. It will be a very small space, so I’m hoping to be able to share a couple of good storage ideas for small spaces. Stay tuned!

 

One thought on “You & Me

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

