1 sketch, 6 cards


sketch1

Do you ever look back on recent projects and notice a trend going on? That happens to me from time to time. I pick up on something and then I repeat it over and over again until I move on to something else.

Lately I’ve noticed that I’ve been using pretty much the same basic layout when creating a lot of my cards. I did it without noticing for a while, until I got a feeling of deja vu and looked over some of my most recent work to see why. And I did, indeed, see a pattern begin to emerge.

Now, that isn’t particularly a bad thing. Sometimes using a basic sketch and just branching out a bit can help you create lots of projects quickly without all of them seeming the same to other people. A sketch can be interpreted in so many, many different ways.

So, I thought I’d share my basic sketch with you and you can use it to see what you come up with. I guarantee you it will be totally different than anything I’ve made over the last couple of weeks.

And just to recap, here are a few of the cards I made in recent weeks that I feel follow this sketch pretty well. Can you see how each of these follow the same basic design?

sketchcards1

sketchcards2

 

Keep in mind that the sketch can be rotated or flipped to give you even more design possibilities!

Feel free to download this sketch and use it however you see fit. I do ask, though, that if you do make a project using it that you kindly link back to this post.

I’d love to see what you create, so I hope you’ll share it with me if you do! I may even be able to come up with a little something fun for those of you who do make something and share it with me! 😉

So, how was your weekend? I know, I took a little blog vacation. I fully intended to spend part of the holiday weekend getting crafty, but instead I ended up spending it doing outside work, throwing a party, and taking my kids to the pool! But that’s all good. It was a wonderful weekend. But now I’ve been having a bit of a hard time getting back into my normal routine.

I hope to share more of my watercolor class projects with you very soon. I still fully intend to share more of the class with you all, even though class has been over for a bit now. I think you could still take the class, but don’t take my word for it. I’m not sure how that all works.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s little detour from the norm.

 

One thought on “1 sketch, 6 cards

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

