Watercolor for Card makers: Day 2, technique 3


IMG_7517

Hello! It’s time to share the third technique from day #2 of the Watercolor for Card Makers class. From here on out I will be trying to share more than one technique each day so we don’t drag it out too long. Tomorrow I’ll be sharing at least two techniques, maybe three, so be sure to come on back for that.

Today’s technique is the last in the watercolor backgrounds that we learned in the class. For this one, we inked up a background stamp, wetted it, and then stamped it. I don’t have very many background stamps anymore, especially ones that were good for this technique. So, I pulled out a wood mounted stamp from Hero Arts to use. I liked the softness the water gave the polka dots and the irregular edges just make it a bit more relaxed and casual.

I made three cards this time. Probably because the instructor made three with this technique, and I seem to be following the instructors fairly closely. I’m trying to branch out a bit and incorporate some of my own ideas into my projects as well, although when I’m following someone else I tend to try to use similar stamp sets, etc. to try to achieve much the same look. Tomorrow I will branch out on my own a bit more, so there’s that.

This technique was fun, and easy, and worth trying out on a couple of cards, so here you go!

IMG_7511

I used the entire piece of stamped background here and then just added an embossed sentiment strip and some sequins and pearls.

IMG_7513

Here again, I used the entire stamped piece, but added a card stock corner, a layer of vellum, a sentiment, and some embellishments.

IMG_7510

This time I trimmed the stamped piece into a circle and added a bit of stamping, a camera die cut from wood paper, and a few wood stars.

I loved this technique! It’s quick and easy and adds just a fun element to your stamping. Have you ever tried this one before?

I can’t wait to share the next few techniques with you all, so I hope you’ll pop back in.

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Watercolor for Card makers: Day 2, technique 3

  1. JeanD says:

    Lovely Brenda, I agree the water does give a softness to the stamping. I’m also like you in that I tend to “copy” what the teacher does. This was one I had tried before.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

