Watercolor for Card Makers: Day 2, technique 2


IMG_7469

Just popping in quickly to share the next technique assignment from the Watercolor for Card Makers class. Saturday is always a day with a lot of different things going on, so I’m going to make it quick.

This technique was a bit of a struggle for me. Basically, you mask off your stamped design with either Liquid Frisket or rubber cement and then wash your color over the top. I had trouble for a couple of reasons.

#1. I used rubber cement since I didn’t have any Liquid Frisket. You get better coverage using the Liquid Frisket versus the rubber cement. I realized I would have to apply the rubber cement pretty thick after I botched a few.

#2. I wasn’t able to achieve quite as dark of a color wash. I used red for my first attempt and discovered I didn’t really like the red at all. Red isn’t really my color. So I went with a lighter wash of color. Same idea.

#3. You have to let the rubber cement and your watercolor dry for quite a while to make sure your color pigment doesn’t smudge. My color started smudging over the white part when I rubbed off the rubber cement the first time.

All in all, it’s a cool technique that you could achieve a lot of cool effects with, but definitely not my favorite.

That’s all for today, folks. I’d love to hear what you think of the class techniques so far. If you guys ever have any questions about any of them, please just ask.

I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “Watercolor for Card Makers: Day 2, technique 2

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    This is beautiful! I love the stamp you chose to use and that bit of patterned paper you included.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

