Celebrate!


IMG_7445

 

Howdy, folks!I interrupt the stream of projects from the Watercolor for Card Makers class  to bring you this card I made to submit to the Gallery Idol 2014 contest. The open auditions round focuses on cards made with washi tape. You can read all about it HERE.

Washi tape. Ahh, washi tape. The beautiful little rolls of goodness that we all love to collect. The problem, for me, is that I don’t very often use my stash of washi tape. I don’t know why. I have so many fun colors and patterns, but only once in a while do they see their way onto a project. In fact, I made myself stop buying them. I have plenty. More than enough to last for the rest of my paper crafting days. I must challenge myself to use what I have before I buy any more. This does not apply to the ones that come in my monthly Studio Calico kits. Hee!!

So, anyway, this was a perfect way for me to challenge myself to use some of my washi tape in a new and clever way.

For this card, I pulled out a couple of tapes that I thought looked cute together. A grey one with white and gold stars, and a neon pink one. I adhered a few strips of the tape to some card stock, then punched them out with my circle punch. I layered some clear enamel embellishments from Epiphany Crafts on top to make these really cool looking embellishments.

IMG_7447

I also punched out a few tiny dots from the neon pink tape to use as little accent pieces. The sentiment stamp is from the Just for You set from Neat & Tangled. It came in my Stamping Royalty prize package, and I love it!

I’ll be back tomorrow with the next card for the Watercolor for Card Makers class. I intended to post it today, but, well, I ended up really NOT liking the card I made. At all! Plus, yesterday was taken up with a bunch of other stuff, like yard work, planting vegetable plants and stuff like that. I ended the day with sore muscles and no energy to try to make another card to show you. Sooo…I plan to post it tomorrow.

I hope you’ve been enjoying what I’ve been sharing from the class and that you’re not bored to tears from all the watercolor projects I’ve been sharing. I’d love to hear your feedback! Comments letting me know what you think are always appreciated!

I also have SO many ideas on how to incorporate these watercolor techniques into my scrapbooks, and I can’t wait to give some of them a try in that way. I guess I’ll just keep on sharing my watercolor projects until you beg me to stop. M’kay? Haha!

Hope you have an awesome day! Happy Friday, y’all!!!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

