Watercolor for Card makers: Day 1, technique 3


IMG_7410

Hey gang! Thanks for joining me again today! This card shows the third technique we learned on day #1 of the Watercolor for Card Makers class. The class is currently on day #7, but I’m slowly working my way through all the class homework. Each technique is so beautiful and I want to try them all. Who knew there were so many different ways to incorporate watercoloring into your projects? I didn’t.

And, even though this class is called Watercolor for Card Makers, and I’m showing you mostly card examples, I’m thinking a lot of these techniques would look really awesome on scrapbook pages as well. I hope to try some of these ideas out on my pages when class is over.

On this card I stamped and embossed a striped background and then added a watercolor wash over top. The embossing resists the watercolors, which makes such a pretty background.

IMG_7411

I also added a bit of watercolor to my die cut leaves to help them be a little more interesting, rather than leave them plain white. I think watercoloring on die cuts is a really beautiful look, and a great one to add to scrapbook pages if you’re wondering how you can use watercolors in your scrapbooking. Kim from Happy Like Yellow does amazing things with watercolors on her scrapbook pages. She is such an inspiration!

The stamps I used for the sentiments are from Avery Elle and an old one from Stampin’ Up!

I got my Stamping Royalty prize package yesterday. Fun!! I can’t wait to ink up some of those stamps and play with the other fun goodies that were included. Speaking of fun contests, have you submitted your cards yet for the 2014 Gallery Idol contest? I submitted one so far and plan to submit a couple more. There aren’t a lot of submissions yet, although I’m sure a lot will come in at the last minute. But, if you’ve been thinking of trying something like that out, here’s your chance! It’s such a fun experience, and I encourage you to give it a whirl!

As I mentioned yesterday, I have a Facebook exclusive project for my Facebook fans. Here’s a sneak peek:

facebookexclusive

This card also showcases one of the techniques we learned on day #1 of class. To see it in its entirety, hop on over and “like” Sweet Paper Treats on Facebook. Click here, or on the link at the top of my sidebar.

Thanks for stopping by today!

 

 

 

One thought on “Watercolor for Card makers: Day 1, technique 3

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

