Watercolor for Card Makers: Day 1, technique 2


IMG_7397

Good morning, everyone!

I’m moving along here with my homework from the Watercolor for Card Makers class. Today’s card uses another technique we learned on day one. I like to call it watercolor “smooshing”. Because, really, that’s what we’re doing. “Smooshing” the watercolors together to make this fun background.

Mine turned out a lot more blotchy looking than the class sample, but in the end I was OK with that, because the colors I chose made me think of stars and galaxies and the blotchiness just seemed to work,  so I went with that to create this card. I chose a rub-on sentiment that says “you are my moon and stars” and added some rub-on and sequin stars to it. I snuck in a little sparkle with the strip of glittered paper and further emphasized my Star theme with a few drops of white mist.

IMG_7399

The inks I used here are Tim Holtz Distress inks, which I love for these kinds of techniques because they repel the water and create such fun effects. I really need to get myself a few more!

The star sequins and rub-ons are from one of my Studio Calico kits.

If you’d like to check out the class and get in on the fun, you can check it out here!

I’ll be back tomorrow with the last technique from day #1, plus a bonus card for my Facebook fans. Check out, and “Like”, Sweet Paper Treats on Facebook for that.

Happy Monday, y’all!

 

4 thoughts on “Watercolor for Card Makers: Day 1, technique 2

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

