Watercolor For Card Makers: Class 1, technique 1


IMG_7381

Hey guys! It’s a busy Saturday here, but I just wanted to sneak in a few minutes to share some of the homework I’ve been working on from the Watercolor for Card Makers class. This class is uh-MAZ-ing, y’all!!! If you haven’t signed up, I’m sure you still can. We’re currently on day 6 of classes, and each day has been SO.much.fun!! The techniques they’ve been sharing are out of this world. Seriously, you should check it out if you haven’t yet.

I can’t wait to try out more of these techniques, but I plan to do as many of them as I can. I finished all three from day one, so I’ll share them here as I go along.

For the first lesson on the first day we learned how to use watercolors and stencils together to make a fun background. I don’t have very many stencils that would have worked very well. (I’ll share a card using one of them later). But I found a little pocket page insert that I had cut with my Silhouette from a piece of wood paper which has a protective coating on the back. The coated surface worked extremely well for this technique and I think I will try it again sometime with more cut out shapes. I bought the wood paper at Hobby Lobby. It comes in sheets that you can cut, punch, stamp, etc. etc. It’s very cool. I was happy to find one more use for it. Another great thing about using the paper is that my little stencil piece didn’t get ruined. I can use it over and over, or add it to a card or page later.

I laid the stencil I had created from the wood paper down onto my watercolored surface so the paint would pool up a bit while it dried, leaving the fun background behind that you see on the card.

IMG_7382

The sentiment was cut from washi tape, also using my Silhouette. I actually covered an entire sheet of card stock with that ombre washi tape and cut out the sentiment suing my Silhouette. It did a great job! I plan to use the washi covered sheet for another project.

So, there’s technique #1 from day #1 of class. What do you think?

Hope you’re having a super wonderful day!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Watercolor For Card Makers: Class 1, technique 1

  1. JeanD says:

    It’s lovely Brenda. I’m enjoying the class too and even had time to make a few cards this weekend (yes I posted them)

  2. Miriam Prantner says:

    Beautiful card! I really loved trying out this technique and you got a much better impression/stenciled image than I did. The sentiment is so appropriate for class too!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

