experiments in watercolors


watercolorplay

 

I just signed up for the Online Card class: Watercolor for Card Makers.  It was something I thought about for a while. Did I really need a class to teach me how to watercolor? I was already familiar with a lot of the watercoloring techniques that are so popular right now. And, after all, I could search online and probably find all kinds of techniques for free. Plus, I already have lots and lots of watercolor ideas saved to my Pinterest board that I haven’t tried yet.

But, with just a few days to go before class begins, I decide I would take the plunge. The class is taught by Jennifer McGuire, Kristina Werner, and Jennifer Rzasa, and if you are familiar with any of those girls, you know that they are all extremely talented ladies that can teach us a lot.

It looks like you get a lot of bang for your buck with this class. It hasn’t even begun yet and I’ve already been inspired in a lot of different ways. When it came down to it I decided to take this class because:

– I’ve never taken a class from Online Card Classes before and I wanted to see what they were like.

– The teachers are phenomenal! I’ve been a fan of Kristina Werner for years. And who doesn’t know who Jennifer McGuire is? Jennifer Rzasa is a fellow Gallery Idol 2013 girl, and she’s awesome!

– I love watercolors. What can I say? Pretty much anything having to do with watercolors catches my eye these days.

– I’ve been in a teensy bit of  a funk lately, feeling like I’ve been making a little bit of the same old, same old. I find that taking a class often helps spur on my creativity. Classes help me look at my supplies in a new way and find new techniques to incorporate when using them. And that’s a very good thing.

– I love the community a class can build. I’ve seen so many of my crafty friends are also taking this class, so it will be fun to see what everyone comes up with.

So, last night I sat down at the kitchen table, armed with my watercolors, paper, a few brushes, and a bunch of ideas in my head. I cut a sheet of watercolor paper into small, 3″x 4″ pieces to make a bunch of small canvases to work with and experiment on. It was so.much.fun, you guys!! It was so relaxing and therapeutic to just sit there and play around, watching the colors swirl and blend. I absolutely loved it!

I decided to use the smaller pieces for a few reasons. One, they are the perfect size to add to a pocket style scrapbook page or to a card. Two, if I mess up one one, it’s not such a big deal. Less potential for waste means I will be more free to just experiment as I want. Three, I wanted to try out a lot of different ideas, and a smaller size helped me do that more easily.

Here’s what I came up with last night:

watercolorcards

And a run-down of what I did on each one.

#1: I painted an ombre swatch of blue inks from darkest to lightest and stamped the city scene over top when it was dry.

#2: A rainbow ombre effect. I loaded up my brush and began at the left side, pulling the color over to the right, fading it out as I went. I added the next color while the previous one was still wet so they would blend together.

#3: I masked off a small section and then painted random sized rectangles in various shades of pinks and lavenders. When it was dry I stamped the sentiment.

#4: I wetted the entire paper except for a circle in the center. Then I brushed on my paint, leaving it run together. The paint will go wherever you’ve already made it wet. I stamped that fun sentiment in the middle when it was all dry.

#5: I was inspired by one of the pre class videos that Kristina Werner did when she made a swatch book of all her watercolors by painting them in little squares on a page. I did that here and then wrote over some of them with a pen when they dried.

#6: I just brushed on swatches of several different colors to see how they would look layered over each other. I let each layer dry before adding the next to keep them from flowing together.

I’m so excited for class to begin! Will you be there?

watercolors

 

Also, National Scrapbooking Day is tomorrow. Do you have any fun plans? I do plan to get a bit of scrapbooking in if I can between chores. I know Studio Calico and many other online sites have some fun challenges and contests planned. I’m hoping to participate at least a little bit. I’d like to try to incorporate some of these watercolor cards into a page somehow.

 

 

3 thoughts on “experiments in watercolors

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    I really love these! Especially the one with the circle in the middle. I need to get signed up for class. I’m such a procrastinator!

  2. Karolyn at Paper Therapy says:

    Oh my gosh, girl! You KILLED these mini canvases!! I love each and every one of them!! I feel like you’ve got a handle on the basics of what we’re hopefully going to learn in class – I’m going to sit next to you and copy off your paper, okay?! LOL Can’t wait for class to begin – is it Monday yet?! XOXO

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

