Easter tablescape


 

Easter tablescape

Good morning! Happy Good Friday! I’m so excited that we get to celebrate Easter Sunday in a couple of days. I thought it would be fun to create an Easter tablescape this year. I was hoping to bring this post to you a little earlier than this, but I had another project I needed to finish up first, so this got pushed back a little. However, there is still time to put a little something special together of your own. I used some very basic supplies to create these projects.

Easter is one of my very favorite days to celebrate. I think, for the Christian anyway, it should be celebrated as much as, or even more than, Christmas is. The birth of our Savior is an amazing thing to celebrate, but it didn’t end with His birth. That was just the beginning! His death and resurrection were what His coming here to earth was all about. To redeem sinful people like you and me! I can’t help but celebrate Easter with my heart swelling with joy and gratitude for what he has done for me! And each year it seems to become even more special and meaningful to me.

I wanted to create a tablescape that incorporated lots of raw, earthy textures with some pretty springtime colors. I chose to work with burlap, woven natural placemats, blacks, white and grays.

IMG_7050

Maybe some of you remember this sneak peek I posted last week. It contains some of the elements and colors I was going for.

I created that word art piece by writing words on a white sheet of paper using my gouache paints. I wrote several words and phrases that depicted what the Easter season means to me.  Some of the words and phrases I used were:

Hallelujah! He is risen. Love has overcome. The tomb is empty. Jesus is alive! Life broke forth. Hope springs new. Death has been defeated. Beautiful Savior. Etc.

I copied my artwork onto kraft card stock and cut it into strips to wrap around my napkins.

IMG_7070

The flowers were cut from card stock using my Silhoette Cameo and a 3-D aster flower I downloaded from the Silhouette online store. I chose a peachy card stock for the petals of my flowers, along with a pale pink for the center petals. The stamens are a deep, dark brown and the leaves bring a refreshing pop of green. These were really easy to make. The most time consuming part was the assembly, but even that didn’t really take that long. I was amazed how well the Silhouette can make very detailed cuts like those stamens. I love that machine!

IMG_7028

I also decorated some eggs in a black and white scheme, using watered down acrylic ink and a Sharpie marker. I found that pretty grass at the greenhouse this week. It’s called cat grass and it’s so pretty!

IMG_7053

I was on the lookout for some salmon or pale pink flowers to use on my table, but I wasn’t able to find any. These orange and pink tulips were the closest thing I could find, but that’s OK. I love them anyway.

IMG_7059

Our dining room is still waiting on some finishing touches, but it’s coming together. I am loving it so far. Especially our table. It’s one of my very favorite pieces of furniture that we own. We didn’t have a formal dining room before, so it’s fun to have a place where I can experiment with decorations like this.

IMG_7032

IMG_7033

A few more things you could do with the watercolored word art:

1. print it out, frame it, and hang it on your wall or display it somewhere where it would be visible from the table.

2. Print out enough to wrap around the flower pots instead of using the burlap.

3. Have it printed onto plain cloth napkins that you could use over and over again.

We’re planning to celebrate Easter a bit differently this year. We will be attending our normal church service, but then we’ll come home and have dinner with just us instead of spending it with Eric’s family, who got together last week when it didn’t work for us to come. We’ll hide eggs for Chloe to find (the boys are pretty much past the egg hunt stage). Then we plan to head to my sister’s house for the evening for my family get together. It’s been a year (last week) since my mom’s death, so it will be a time of remembrance with a balloon release for the kids, and so on.

But through it all I want my focus to be on what my dear Savior ultimately did for me. I owe Him everything!

Blessings to you and yours! I wish you all a beautiful weekend! thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “Easter tablescape

  1. Courtney says:

    Brenda,

    This is stunning!! I love the color combo with the vibrant green grass! Just lovely! Happy Easter to you and your family!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

