Inspired By: pretty little teepee


IMG_6784

Good morning, friends!

I have another Avery Elle card to share with you today. I know I’ve been showing lots of Avery Elle lately, but if you love their stamps like I do, then you won’t really mind.

This time I used the Home Sweet Home stamp set which features adorable little dwellings, like this teepee. Goodness, it’s just so cute!I love the Southwestern designs included in the set so you can add details to your teepee.

I also used the Ovals Classic Frames stamp set from Waltzingmouse Stamps.

This card was inspired by this photo that I pinned some time ago to my inspiration board.

6e970b7c3e374ec95bbf52956655b1f9

Photo via flickr.com

This photo makes me want to live in a teepee. Well, almost. I love the colors, the designs on the teepee, and the watercolor floral designs encircling it. It’s all done in such a beautiful way and I just love it. I decided to use some of these elements in my card.

I liked that the designs on the teepee were white, so I masked off my teepee and embossed the designs in white and then colored the teepee with inks. This card was a little difficult to execute since the white embossing was reeeeaaallly hard to see and get all lined up just right. Another option for getting similar results would be to color your image first and then emboss the white designs on top. Or use colored paper instead of white. I chose to use white paper and emboss before I colored so I could achieve my desired effect as closely as possible.

I popped my little teepee up on foam adhesive and adhered it on top of another stamped image. I colored the doorway on the bottom image. I didn’t have any floral images that worked well to create the designs around the teepee, so I used an oval floral frame from the Waltzingmouse set instead.

IMG_6790That bold black and white paper is from Glitz Designs. Originally I was going for a small design, but I really didn’t have anything on hand that fit the bill. I think I’d still pick a smaller design to accent this image, but sometimes you have to use what you got, right?

You can see more “Inspired By” posts by clicking on the Inspired By tag at the bottom of this post.

If you have any questions about this card, or would just like to stop in and say “hello” I’d love to hear from you! Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “Inspired By: pretty little teepee

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    What a great card! I love the triangle borders and you really nailed the inspiration piece, fantastic stamping!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

