Powhatan Village- Native stamped designs


IMG_6564

 

I made this page for a recent Paper Crafts and Scrapbooking call for the native influences category. It wasn’t chosen, obviously, but I had fun creating these native designs out of stamps from my stash, so I thought I’d share the results here with you.

The photos were taken during a visit to the Powhatan village at the Jamestown settlement in Virginia. We really enjoyed learning about the natives and their way of life. The kids were especially enthralled with the totem poles. Yes, they did think it was very funny to stick their fingers in those large noses. Yes, they are crazy like that!

Since I didn’t have any stamps or other supplies that really went with this theme I was forced to come up with something on my own. I dug through my stash to see what i could find to use. I settled on the Design Motifs stamp set from Paper Smooches to make the designs on this page. The triangles and chevrons works so well to make lots of fun patterns. I love that the smaller triangles fit so perfectly inside the chevron designs. The possibilities of making all kinds of patterns are pretty much endless. I have a few more ideas stewing in my brain for this stamp set.

IMG_6565

 

I stamped a few of the designs onto a scrap piece of card stock and used foam adhesive to pop them off the page a bit for some added dimension.

I chose a softer color palette to better coordinate with the colors in my photos, but wouldn’t it be fun to try this out with some brights and neons?

IMG_6566

 

I used my Silhouette to cut out some feathers to add to my page. I misted them with grey mist before adhering them.

IMG_6567A few stars and dots finish it off. The patterned paper is from Heidi Swapp. the arrows in the paper just happened to match the theme and colors in my photos so well. Don’t you just love it when that happens?

The letter stickers are from my Studio Calico kits.

If you have any questions about this page, please feel free to ask.

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing part of your day with me!

 

 

 

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

