Favorite Shirt


IMG_6210

Last weekend I attended a weekend long scrapbook retreat. We scrapbooked for hours on end, ate lots of food (too much food), and laughed and chatted. I even got a little bit of sleep. My husband asked me what my favorite part of the weekend was, and I said it was the scrapbooking. Getting to devote an entire weekend to working on my albums and feeling like I got something accomplished was awesome. Plus, I made some new friends and got to know others better.

I know I said in an earlier post that I didn’t have any particular scrapbooking goals this year, that I just wanted to get a LOT done. But after this weekend I decided to set a goal for myself. It’s a HUGE goal and it will require me to work really hard on my albums. But I am determined to get caught up at some point, and in order to do that I will have to work hard at it. I’m going to try to set my weekends aside to scrapbook.

With that said, I was able to complete 33 pages this weekend. I could have done more, but I had some interruptions, but that was fine. I took my Silhouette machine along and was showing the other scrapbookers how to use it for their own pages. Lots of them were familiar with the Cricut, but not the Silhouette, so if was fun to show them something new. Next time I’m setting my goal higher than 33 pages.

Lots of the pages I completed were the pocket style pages. only a few were my typical 12″x12″. But I thought I’d share one of them where with you today.

IMG_6211

This is my Chloe. The journaling reads: Your very favorite shirt ever had little ice cream cones all over it. You wore it all the time! When it finally got too small for you, I found this one as a replacement. You like this one too. You really seem to like your ice cream cone shirts .

I like to include pages like this every once in a while that show a little snippet of what my kids were like. Things they enjoyed, little quirks, etc. Instead of making one more page saying how beautiful I think she is, which I do. But she has lots of pages saying that already. I wanted to share a little more. I could have also said that these photos were taken in the front yard on a beautiful summer day while her brothers were playing football beside her. Or that I can’t believe how fast she’s growing, or how she looks so much like me. But I chose to focus on the shirt because, even though it’s not all that important, it’s still fun too look back and remember how she was obsessed with wearing her favorite ice cream cone shirt. How, from the time she was very little, she had opinions about what she liked to wear. It tells me something about her. And that’s all part of the memory keeping aspect for me.

IMG_6213

 This weekend I only took my Studio Calico kits, my stack of 6″x6″ paper pads, and some other embellishments that I wanted to use. I packed light, but it was freeing to have a smaller selection to choose from.

The base paper and letter stickers are from my kit. The other patterned papers are from the Dear Lizzie Neapolitan 6″x6″ pad. The camera embellishment in from Maggie Holmes. The row of colorful hearts is from Glitz Designs. The chipboard heart is also Dear Lizzie, and the little heart pennant and brad is from My Mind’s Eye.

Thanks for stopping by today. It’s always a pleasure!

 

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

