Operation Scrapbook


002

 

I have several goals for this year, and one of them is to make a dent in my backlog of unscrapbooked photos. In the last few years I’ve fallen further and further behind with my scrapbooks, and I’ve decided that this year I will break the trend. I regret letting myself get so far behind, because now I forget the details of the photos. I forget the stories and the context behind them. If I could do it over I would try harder to stay current with my photos.

Scrapbooking is important to me for several reasons, and I might write a separate post about that sometime.

I have years worth of photos to put into albums, so to make the job easier and to take up less space once they are all put into albums, I have decided to try photo pocket scrapbooking. I am not doing Project Life, although I most likely will be using some of the fabulous Project Life supplies out there, along with photo pocket scrapbooking supplies from various companies.  Photo pocket scrapbooking is so very popular right now, for good reason. It’s a fast and simple way to get your photos into albums where they can be looked at and enjoyed. I plan to insert my photo pocket pages into my albums right along with my typical 12″x12″ pages. It will give my albums some variety, and maybe a more eclectic feel, but that’s fine by me.

I will still be doing typical, full-page scrapbook pages too. Just not for all my photos. I plan to use my favorite photos to make the typical 12′ x 12″ spreads where I can still let my inner artist loose and play around with product and techniques a little more.

Tomorrow I plan to take the entire day to scrapbook with friends, and I will be working on my first photo pocket pages there. I typically work on traditional pages when I scrapbook with friends, so this will be a little different for me. I’m excited to get started.

Will I be sharing all my photo pocket pages here with you? No, probably not most of them. I think photo pocket pages can tend to be a little more boring for other people to look at since there aren’t as many artistic elements to share. I might share a few of my favorites every once in a while, but I probably will share more of my 12″x12″ pages here, just like I did in the past. With that said, I hope to have lots more 12″x12″ pages to share here this year with my aggressive scrapbooking goal.

I don’t have a tangible goal, like certain number of pages/albums/photos for the year or anything like that. I do hope to scrapbook weekly. If not a day during the week, then weekends at least can be my time to scrapbook.

Before I go, I thought I’d share some of my favorite photo scrapbooking pages that others have been doing.

This one is from the Harmonie blog, although I couldn’t find the original post. I love the simplicity of this one. I love that the photos are square. I love that the photos are the main focus. Plus, the photos are just so pretty.

Here’s another example of squares pockets. Only smaller ones. I love that some of the pockets don’t contain any photos or paper, but just a little embellishment. It really helps break it up and make it more interesting. You would need some really small photos for this, though. Maybe print out some photos in wallet size and then trim them down?

Here’s another very simple sample from Clouds Shadler. I adore the close-up of the log ends and I think it’s a brilliant way to add to the story of the photo. I need to remember to take more interesting shots like that.

Here’s a beautiful one from Janna Werner. You can also see here how the photo pocket pages can pair beautifully with a 12″x12″ page.

This one by Elise Blaha is stinking brilliant! I love it so much! Note to self. Don’t always crop photos so closely. Then I can use them better this way.

How about you? Are you lagging behind in the scrapbooking department as well? Care to join me in the goal to get more done in 2014? Let’s get those photos off of our computers and phones and get them where our loved ones can appreciate them. Who’s with me?

 

7 thoughts on “Operation Scrapbook

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    I am trying to do a better job scrapbooking this year too, although I feel like I say that every year. I’m curious to see how you’ll incorporate the pocket pages with the regular pages – coordinating, or totally separate. It’s something that I toyed with, so I might live vicariously through you this year and see how it goes. No pressure. 😉

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      LOL! Miriam, I hope I can share something helpful and useful to you this year, then. I’ve been saying it every year too, but this year I really mean it. I’m hoping that by putting it out there in blog land will help me actually do what I plan to do. I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for stopping by!

      Hugs Brenda

  2. Liz O. says:

    So I am not alone after all huh? I thought I was the only one that keep the ” I will catch up with my scrapbook pages this year” resolution unfulfilled ;). I have been stuck for quite some time and I have been looking at different ways to incorporate traditional and pocket pages, are you reading my mind? LOL!
    Thank you for sharing some samples, I look forward to what you create, maybe through your scrapbooking journey I will finally get my brain untangled!
    have a wonderful day!

  3. mhkahoffman says:

    I’ve been doing the same thing! I don’t want to necessarily do anything weekly or daily – but I’m using the pocket pages to simplify my scrapbooking, and using my favorites for 12×12 layouts. I LOVE how it allows me to quickly accomplish a lot – and like you, I am VERY behind and trying to catch up! I can’t wait to see more of what you do – your work always inspires me!

  4. Betsy Skagen says:

    I feel your pain. I’m years behind and also regret what I have forgotten. I’m not a fan of Project Life or pocket photos, but it makes a whole lot more sense than having photos sit unused in shoeboxes and digital files. I’m holding out, but that may not be wise. Either way, I’m glad you are continuing the art of 12 x 12 layouts also. 🙂

  5. Tifany D. says:

    I’ve never been much of a scrapbooker, but I do love taking pictures of my family and it just makes sense to get them onto some pages (or into some pages – pocket style). I’ve got some empty SN@P albums and some Smash books (all of which have yet to be used) – I would love to actually put something in them this year!
    What I have done in the past with things like family trips is put the pictures into a book (from Shutterfly) – the kids love to take them off my shelf and look at them. It has been an easy way to document the things that might fill a whole scrapbook (probably in less time) – and I’ve enjoyed them, but I think it’s time to bust out the actual paper crafting supplies.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

