Happy New Year, and a look back


You know, I’m not quite sure where to start with this post. The last time I blogged was just before Thanksgiving. I actually didn’t make a conscious decision to take a break from blogging. It just kind of happened. We have done a lot over the past several weeks and life was just crazy. But there’s more to it than that, and I’ll get into that in my next post.

But now it’s already early afternoon on the first day of the year and I’m only getting into writing this post, which is just a reflection of what the past few weeks have been like in my life.

Before I take a look with you at the coming year, I thought I’d take a quick look back at the last month and a half and recap some of the things that have taken place in the Weaver household. This will be a photo-heavy post. We’ll get into some crafty stuff next time.

1. We took a Thanksgiving trip to Georgia. It was a wonderful time spent with Eric’s sister and her family. The kids has so much fun bonding with their cousins. We spent a day in Savannah, got to pick cotton, ate lots of great food. It was a great trip all around.

093I know this photo isn’t clear, but I kind of like that about it. The sun was so beautiful and I love the softness it adds to the image.

We visited the Georgia State Railroad Museum while we were in Savannah.. I highly recommend it, especially if you have kids or train enthusiasts in your family.  They have an awesome kids area there and the kids would have been happy to spend the entire day in the kids area alone. It was built in an old ruined building in the train yard, which made it a spectacular setting for the play area. Here are just a few of the dozens of photos I took there.

149

They had areas for the kids to read books while lounging on big pillows, a dress up area, slides, mazes, all kids of discovery type things, a little garden area, balls, etc. etc. All outside. It was very cool.

150

 

152

 

153

And the fact that it was built inside an old structure like that just made me happy. I loved it!

2. We enjoyed a few snow storms.2013-12-103. we made a hot cocoa bar

4. We baked LOTS of Christmas cookies

5. We sent out 100 Christmas cards

6. I taught a Christmas craft at a local church.

011

7. We had a Christmas program at my kids’ school. (and the kids did great- SO proud of them!)

8. We planned a fun Christmas party for our employees and their families. We rented out a local venue with race tracks, an arcade and kids fun zone. We spent most of the time on the race tracks, adults and kids alike.

015

9. I cut about a bajillion branches off my evergreen trees to make Christmas decorations. I made wreaths, arrangements, etc. I finished a day or two before my family came for dinner. I was operating at last minute stress levels pretty much this entire holiday season.

10. We went roller skating

11. We made paper snowflakes

12. I painted my pantry doors with chalkboard paint and make Christmas chalk art on it

13. We spent many hours at my in-laws so the kids could play with their cousins

14. We hosted two family dinners. One for 34 people, and the other for 23 people.

15. We attended a beautiful Christmas Eve service

16. We ate too many sweets

17. we listened to approximately 1964529 Christmas songs

18. I ordered a rug for our dining room, which meant way too many hours spent online looking for just the right one. having it arrive just two days before our first family dinner was awesome.

19. We slept in

20. We visited the Lancaster Market. Bought delicious Thom’s bread. Finished off one entire loaf between the five of us on the ride home. It had Chunks of Chocolate in it, people! Wilbur Buds, to be exact! It was SO good! If you don’t know what those are, you’ll have to visit Lititz, PA and find out.

21. We bought a ping pong table for the kids as an early Christmas present. 

22. We wrapped our Christmas presents on Christmas Eve and then unwrapped them about 10 minutes later.

23. We missed getting to spend Christmas with my mom. But she would have been proud of my dad for the way he made Christmas special for the grandchildren, thanks to the help of my brother.

24. We started putting a puzzle together. It currently sits unfinished on our dining room table.

25. We thanked God for all He has done for us in the past year

So many times as the activities unfolded I thought it would be a great thing to blog about, but there never seemed to be enough time. We only spent a few days out of the kids’ entire two week Christmas vacation at home, and those days we took very slow, sleeping as long as we wanted, watching movies, relaxing and playing.

If you follow me on Instagram you can see more photos of our holiday happenings. I am Dewsgirl0 on Instagram. You can also find a link on my blog sidebar.

But now, I’m looking forward very much to a brand new year. 2013 was a hard year in a lot of ways. But the hard times also bring opportunities for growth. I learned a lot about myself this year. Learned a lot about God too. I look forward to sharing some of those things with you soon.

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas season. I hope this New Year finds you happy and healthy. I’m so grateful for all of you who came to visit me here in 2013 and I’m looking forward to crafting with you in 2014! Happy New Year, friends. May your blessings be many this year.

Stop back in tomorrow and I’ll share with you my One Little Word for 2014.

 

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year, and a look back

  1. Liz O. says:

    Happy New Year Brenda! I have missed visiting your blog, but I am glad to hear your holidays were good. You sure had been busy, but it looks like you had tons of fun while at it. I am happy for you!
    Have a wonderful day!

  2. Sarah says:

    Sounds like a season filled with lots of happy memories! And your little word for the new year…I’m anxious to hear what it is! I love the perspective that choosing a word to be my ‘motto’ gives me.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

