Focus on: Plum Poppy Studio


003

 

When my friend, DoBea, asked me if I’d be interested in trying out her stamp sets, I immediately said “yes”. DoBea designed a few stamp sets for Market Street Stamps back when they were still in business under her design name “Plum Poppy Studios”. She has since begun to make her own stamps and I am so excited for her! I know you’ll want to check out her stamp sets over at Plum Poppy Studios. She also has SVG fils to coordinate with her stamp sets.  Be sure to also check out her blog, where she’s got so many fun examples of her stamp sets in action.

This first card uses the “Let it Snow” stamp set. I thought it would be fun to try out the faux chalkboard technique. Oh my word! SO fun! I am definitley going to have to try this technique again. My mind is spinning with fun possibilities now. Going to have to go through my stamp collection to find more stamps that could work well for this. If you’d like to try this technique for yourself, Betsy Veldman, the queen of stamping, has made a video tutorial. I know many of you have probably already given this technique a try, since it was a while ago that she made the video, but if you’re slow like me and haven’t yet tried this out, please do. It’s awesome!

005

 

I layered my little chalkboard onto some patterned paper from the Basic Grey, Hey You, collection. I also added a few punched snowflakes to finish it off.

Now, let’s switch gears a little. We’re working backwards here. First a Christmas card, and now a fall-ish card.

001

This one uses “The Masterpiece of Nature” stamp set, which includes all sorts of whimsical leaves. I’m kind of digging the SVG file that goes with this set. I think those leaves cut out could be so pretty all on their own. With some stitched leaf veins, maybe?

I stamped the leaves with Sahara Sand ink and the colored the leaves in a little bit with a messy, watercolor look, also using Sahara Sand ink. The background is subtle, but I really love it. I sprinkled a little bit of gold paint on it too.  The patterned paper is a tag from an old Studio Calico kit, and the letter stickers are from American Crafts.

002

Lots of crazy angles going on with this card, but i like to go a little crazy sometimes.

I hope you’ll check out DoBea’s stamps, and give them a try. They’re made in the USA, are great quality photopolymer, and her style is sweet and whimsical. I’ll be sharing more projects made using Plum Poppy Studios stamps sometime soon.

Oh, and before I go, I wanted to let you know that you’ll definitely want to carve out a bit of time for yourself to come back here on Saturday. I’m taking part in a really cool, fun, super awesome event in honor of someone special. Don’t miss it!

Thanks so much for stopping by! May your day be filled to the brim with beautiful things!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Focus on: Plum Poppy Studio

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    Beautiful cards! Love the kind of faux ribbon you created on that first chalkboard card, great design, and the softness of the paper you created on the second.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

