Enjoy Every Minute


001

 

Hey there, friends! How have you all been in the last week or so?

I don’t know about you, but the fall season almost makes me giddy with joy! I love everything about it. Even the rainy, dreary days are better in the fall, for some reason. We don’t get to see the sunsets where we live since we’re situated in a wooded area and the trees block the view, but last week one evening while I was driving to a meeting, I had the opportunity to witness the most amazingly incredible sunset EVER! There is something about autumn sunsets that is particularly breathtaking. I think it’s the contrast of the bluest blue sky behind them. It was like the clouds were on fire with oranges, pinks and reds against the backdrop of blue sky. All I could say over and over again was “Wow! Oh, wow!” God sure is an amazing artist, isn’t He?

Now that my dad is finally at home and is doing really well with the adjustment, I feel like I can finally settle back into my normal routine. And I’m glad, because I don’t want to miss my favorite season of all, which passes by all too quickly. I’m thinking a fun photo session with the kids is in order.

OK, guess I should talk about the card. This little number was one I put together on Monday morning after I realized I wouldn’t have to be going up to my dad’s until Sunday. It’s been such a long time since I’ve had a whole week to get done what I needed to accomplish that I couldn’t resist taking just a few minutes to pay a visit to my neglected craft room. Crafting time has been severely limited lately. It felt so good to sit down to craft without feeling a crushing time restraint.

The herringbone background piece was a little kit identification card that came with my Studio Calico kit. It has printed information on the other side. I always keep those little pieces because I think they’re great and so useful. I love this particular shade of blue, and the pattern too. The leaf stamp is the Reflections stamp set from Paper Smooches. I stamped the leaves with several shades of golds and browns for a mottled fall leaf look. The banner stamp, called streamers, is also from Paper Smooches.

002

 

This “enjoy every minute” phrase (from an older Studio Calico kit), do you think it’s possible? I’m not sure that it is possible to enjoy each and every minute of our lives. After all, life can get pretty yucky sometimes, and this phrase can seem a little trite. But what I choose to let it mean to me is that I can choose joy, even in the trying circumstances. I can choose to deliberately enjoy the small things in life that are easily overlooked. Like taking a walk in the crunchy fall leaves. I don’t want to be so busy that I don’t enjoy my life, which has been how I’ve been feeling lately. I want to be the kind of person that chooses to focus on the lovely things of every day. Because there is always something to enjoy and appreciate, isn’t there?

Also, I’ve been thinking I should take part in more card making and/or scrapbooking challenges. I’m trying to find my way back, creatively speaking, after being such a sporadic crafter as of late. It does something to one’s mojo when the creative fires are not fed regularly. At least in my experience. I’m thinking I’ll probably try a different challenge each week, or as often as I can. If you’d like to share your favorite challenges with me, that would be great! I’d love to hear which ones you enjoy the most.

As always, thanks for stopping by!

 

4 thoughts on “Enjoy Every Minute

  1. lil gik says:

    Such a lovely card, your leaves are beautiful! I’ve found that challenges not only keep up the creative mojo, but often other participants are very supportive!

  2. Miriam Prantner says:

    What a beautiful card and sentiment. So glad your dad is home. I think creating is like exercising/playing a sport – you have to keep at it or you get rusty. I am sure that practice will make perfect!

    • sweetpapertreats says:

      Thank you, Miriam! I guess I never thought of it being sort of like a sport, but I think you’re totally right! Got to get those rusty brain gears working again! Thanks for stopping by.

      Have a great day! Brenda

  3. Virginia Lu says:

    This is such a beautiful and serene card, Brenda! I love the shades of leaf colors! Perfect in every way! Trying out challenges is always a good way to get creative! My personal fav (totally not biased!! LOL) is Runway Inspired Challenge! Hope to see you play there!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

