You are so lovely


002

This past weekend we celebrated my sister-in-law turning 30. I didn’t have a whole lot of time to shop for a gift and agonized for a while over what I should get her that she might like/want/need. I came up with nothing.

A day or two before the party I still had nothing and was gearing up for spending half a day out shopping for a special gift. The thought had crossed my mind to make something, but I didn’t know what. I didn’t have a lot of time on my hands, so some hand made items were just simply out of the question. Then it hit me to make a simple, personalized framed piece. Somehow the idea came to me to make small decorative rectangles (like a Project Life spread), and group them together as one whole framed piece. I knew that would be relatively easy and not too time consuming, and so that is what I did. The end result was that large framed piece in the photo below.

003

I used some pretty items from Crate Paper do decorate some of the rectangles. For one I masked off the letter “C”, which is her initial, and did some watercoloring.  In the upper right I changed things out by adding a die cut phrase instead of a decorated card. The phrase is from Silhouetteamerica.com and I stretched it out a little to fit the space.

The day of the party I happened to be at Target to pick up a few things and found some really cute items on clearance that I knew could round out the gift quite nicely. One was that wood grain frame, and the other was the green sparkly box of note cards.

I brought that frame home and set to work making a fun little decorative script saying to put inside. It reads “You musn’t be afraid to sparkle a little brighter, darling.” That phrase seemed to fit my sweet sister-in-law who is such a wonderful friend and mother and is always looking for ways to brighten the world around her. The green sparkly note card box complemented the phrase quite nicely. Plus it was the perfect color.

007

 

I have really been into hand lettering lately. I’m such an amateur, and I need LOTS of practice, but I enjoy it a lot and would really love to get better at it. Don’t look too closely. I know there is lots of room for improvement.

In the end I was able to come up with a gift that took way less time than spending half a day shopping for one would have. Sometimes I tend to forget about all the supplies I have at my disposal. Plus, I think personalized gifts are so much fun to receive. Hopefully she felt that way too.

What kinds of hand made gifts have you given recently?

 

 

3 thoughts on “You are so lovely

  1. Karen says:

    Beautiful! My handmade gifts skills need some work…but I’ve been known to take a composition book, wrap it in some 12×12 Paper and embellish for an easy journal. Pair with a pen and voila! an easy (and cheap!) personalized gift. 🙂

  2. Miriam Prantner says:

    I’m sure she was thrilled with this gift, gorgeous, love your swirly writing too! My most handmade gifts are crocheted blankets.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

