a beautiful life- bokeh effect


089

 

I apologize for the lengthy blog break. Seems like this year hasn’t been real conducive to blogging for me and I have taken way more time off from blogging than I ever intended to.

about the card:

I made this for a publication call several weeks back, but it wasn’t accepted. This was my first try at the bokeh effect, and I really love the way it looks. I added some sequins to add a little sparkle to the bokeh. I made the bokeh using some circle stamps from the Reflections stamp set from Paper Smooches.

090

I love this sentiment from Papertrey Ink’s Meadow Greens stamp set. I think it’s so very true. Choosing to love abundantly and laugh abundantly, even in the face of adversity, makes life so beautiful. This is something I am still in the process of learning. Over the last several months at times I’ve chosen to live abundantly and other times I’ve allowed my frustrations and trials to steal my joy, which not only affects me, but affects those around me as well.

What’s been going on:

– Even though my dad’s open heart surgery went well, he developed many various complications afterward, including a ruptured colon. My dad has been a very sick man and has pulled through several life threatening health issues over the last few weeks. He’s finally been moved to rehab where he’ll stay for the next couple of weeks until he can take care of his basic physical needs. After that it will be up to us kids to make sure he has the daily help he needs. It’s been a long haul for him, and September was a rough month all around. The added stresses of his illness and the extra time it’s meant to add hospital visits to an already overflowing schedule has left me with little time to spare.

– school is in full throttle, and along with that comes the business of overflowing evening schedules, extra activities, and trying to cram a little family time into the mix. At one time I thought that the infant/toddler years would surely be my busiest as I chased my little ones around, but the older the kids get, the more activities get added to the mix, and the busier we all become. Now I laugh and shake my head at how naive I was back then.

– I haven’t had much time to be creative over the last month, and at times I thought I would scream if I didn’t get the chance to sit down and make something. Other times I would sit down for a few minutes to craft and nothing would come. I’d shuffle things around, but nothing. The I’d get discouraged and walk away, feeling frustrated. Wanting desperately to feed the creative need within, but being unable to. Feeling like “how in the world can I write a blog post about finding inspiration when I can’t even get past this block myself??” I even have some amazing new craft supplies just waiting for me to use them. Like gelatos and a Two Peas order of some brand new stuff. I have some great ideas running through my head, but i’m struggling to implement them.

– I thought by now I’d be able to  share some before and after photos of some of the work we’ve done to the house. But the truth is, none of the rooms are really finished yet. The remodeling part has been done for months already, but with all that has happened and the fact that I don’t do much shopping over the summer months when the kids are at home, I hadn’t gotten around to actually furnishing some of the rooms and decorating has gone slowly as well. Last week i finally ordered a new sofa for the formal living room (yay! So excited!) and our dining room table should be finished at the end of the month. We still need dining room chairs  (thinking of something like this or maybe this), an area rug, an accent chair, a couple of end and coffee tables, window treatments, and some accent pieces. Over all I’m OK with taking my time and looking for the perfect pieces, but we’re planning to host my family at Christmas time, so I’d like to have pretty much of it done by then. Plus I still have a lot of space to add decor.

-I finished a lego table for my son and I will share it with you all soon. I’m pretty excited about how it turned out! I’m hoping to share some projects like that with you all from time to time as I complete them.

That’s all for now. Thanks for being patient with me over the last few months. I’m so glad you’re here. I;d love for you to pop in and say hello!

Blessings on your day!

Brenda

 

5 thoughts on “a beautiful life- bokeh effect

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    This is such a beautiful card Brenda! Your bokeh looks amazing! You have a lot on your plate, hang in there!

  2. PaulaSpagnuolo says:

    This is beautiful Brenda! I’ve been seeing the bokeh effect/technique but haven’t tried it yet. It sounds like you have an awful lot going on but you also seem to be doing an amazing job juggling it all. Look forward to your next update and saying a prayer that your Dad is home and doing well again soon.

  3. DoBea says:

    Oh, I love the card Brenda! It’s amazing the beautiful things you can create while you have so much going on in your life. I am so sorry about the struggles that you, your family and your dad have had to go through, but glad to hear he has finally made it to the rehab stage.

    I definitely understand the naivety about the busyness that comes with older kids! That schedule seems to fill magically every time I look at it 😉

    I am looking forward to seeing the changes that you have made throughout your house (especially the room with the fireplace!) I have loved the updates that you were sharing on Facebook.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

