Freestyle Collage- Love


005

Today’s card is a quick little number I whipped up during some “free play” time in my studio. Sometimes my favorite times are when I just sit down with no real plan in mind and begin picking up bits of this and that and start putting them together to see what comes of it. I find that when I’m not crafting for a specific need or with an end result in mind, that what comes out is really “me”. My style begins to really emerge when I just let it flow. And that usually results in some of my favorite projects. When I’m not trying too hard.

The end result of this particular craft session is this card that pretty much fits the new and popular freestyle collage genre, which happens to be my favorite style of crafting.

Freestyle collage is characterized by a more unstructured approach to crafting. Sometimes seemingly unrelated items, some grouping of items together, and a fun mix of patterns and textures. It’s a really fun, no stress,  way of crafting. I love to just begin putting things together, sometimes random items, to see what can actually work.

This time, the colors and patterns wixed well without effort since they are all from the American Crafts Dear Lizzie line. I added little bits of patterned paper that I hand cut with my scissors.

006

The butterfly is die cut using the butterfly Sizzix Bigz die from Stampin’ Up! The vellum letters are die cut using my Silhouette Cameo. A bit of machine stitching holds them in place.

All the soft colors and patterns end up working well for a pretty Love card. Perfect for a wedding, engagement, or anniversary card. I hope you like it.

Thanks so much for stopping by here today! Drop me a line. I’d love to hear from you!

Happy day!

2 thoughts on “Freestyle Collage- Love

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

