Bitty Valentines


bitty valentines

 

I love making tiny Valentines to tuck into small spaces, like my kid’s lunch boxes, or my husband’s pocket. Over the last few years we’ve had a Valentine’s mailbox tradition, where I tuck small candies and other treats into each of my children’s little mailbox each day for a week or two leading up to Valentine’s Day. At least one day out of the year I like to incorporate a letter or sweet note letting my kids know some things I love about them. These sweet little valentines are just the ticket. Small enough to tuck inside the mailboxes, yet roomy enough to add a little note inside.

005

What I love about making tiny cards, besides their overall cuteness, is the fact that I can use tiny scraps and little bits of this and that to make a little masterpiece. Little bits of paper. Tiny embellishments that would just get swallowed up on a larger piece.

006

 

I used some new Basic Grey papers in the True Love collection. The 6×6 pad is a great size for smaller projects like these tiny cards.

PicMonkey Collage

I love Valentine’s day! Yeah, I know it’s highly commercialized, and one could argue that it’s silly to have a day to express love when we should be doing that always. But I love setting a day aside to celebrate love and the people in my life that mean the most to me! I love making themed treats and gifts and decorations. LOVE it! I’m looking forward to next year when I can decorate my house a little more.

My son, Isaiah, would like to make some of these for his classmates, assuming I can find the whoopee cushions at a reasonable price. LOL! Boys!

Chloe chose to make these cute mice.

And, of course, I have a bunch of great treat ideas for Valentine’s Day saved on my Pinterest board. Speaking of my Valentine’s Day Pinterest board, I have a project to share with you tomorrow that was inspired by one of my pins on that board. Extra points to those of you who can guess which one it is! 🙂 Hint: it’s a fun one!

Do you have a special Valentine’s day tradition? I’d love to hear about it.

The house is coming along nicely. I’m excited that i can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel in regards to construction. In fact, for the next week we have no workers scheduled to come in at all! I can’t even tell you how much i’m looking forward to a week of having no one around during the day but me! No one asking me questions and forcing me to make decisions about all kinds of house related things! No stepping around ladders, or bodies, to get where I need to go. No feeling like I have eyes watching every move I make in my own home. Bliss, I tell you! I will enjoy it, because the following week we start redoing the flight of stairs leading to the second floor where our bedrooms are. It will require us to stay off the stairs for about three days while the stain and poly cures. Not sure at all how that adventure will go, but I guess we’ll laugh and make do the best we can. And camp out in the family room, perhaps. I plan to use this next week, where I’ll have fewer house decisions to make, to catch up on other projects. Like redesigning my blog, and scrapbooking, and ordering curtains and fun stuff like that. Yay!

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing part of your day with me!

 

9 thoughts on “Bitty Valentines

  1. karenladd says:

    Love these! Somehow cards in miniature are even cuter! I know what you mean about wanting your house all to yourself. We had a lot of renovations done in the past 3 years and ugh….hated the constant noise, people around all the time, and the disarray. Hoping it was all be worth it in the end for you!

  2. Heather - housesbuiltofcards says:

    These are BEAUTIFUL!!! LOVE how you took the pictures too!!! I’m one of those people who loves Valentine’s too! Most of the people I know who don’t like it, don’t like it because they buy stuff. I think it is different when you can make stuff for those you love – changes the whole perspective! Glad to hear your house is coming along well! Hope it is finished soon!

  3. Amy Baldwin says:

    Your valentine’s are absolutely precious! I love all the sweet little details in each one, guaranteed to put a smile on your kids’ faces.

    I saw the whoopsie cushion ones on pinterest awhile back. So fun for the boys! 🙂

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

