things that make me smile…


Hello!

It’s pick a winner day! That makes me smile. How about you? I hope so! Especially if you’re Mary-Anne V!! Because you’re the winner of the Bazzill giveaway, Mary-Anne!

Mary-Anne V.

“I have so many water themed pictures to scrapbook it is not funny…this paper pack looks perfect. Love your take on the sketch! Looking forward to the october release of your stamps. Thanks for the chance to win.”

Congrats, Mary-Anne!! I have sent you an email.

Just a few other things that are making me smile these days…

-the last few roses, bravely hanging on.

-glitter and embellishments in new, shiny containers, waiting for me!

-my daughter’s favorite friend hanging out in her bedroom until she gets home.

I’ve never been very good at documenting the simple everyday things that I love. I want to get better at that. If for no one else but myself. I want to be more purposeful in getting the camera out and snapping photos, even imperfect ones (maybe especially imperfect ones) that tell the story of my life and the lives of the people I love. I want to be more aware of the small blessings around me. Sometimes I look back and wish I would have been better at preserving those small, sometimes seemingly insignificant, things. Sometimes you look back and realize they were bigger than you thought.

I want to begin photographing the things I’m thankful for. The things I love. The things that drive me crazy. It’s part of a journey I am on to learn more about myself. But also it’s just because those small things are worth documenting.

Part of my journey to learn more about me and who I am involves beginning an art journal. I’ve been thinking about it for some time. I have finally selected a book to use and have begun to prep the pages. I guess the whole art exploration thing kind of scares me a bit. I don’t know why. I guess I’m not sure where to start. But one of these days I’m going to take the leap. And I’ll be sure to share the process here with you.

Have you ever done an art journal? I’d love to hear your thoughts, ideas, and advice on making one!

hugs!

4 thoughts on “things that make me smile…

  1. Heather - housesbuiltofcards says:

    Congrats to Mary-Anne! And I love your pictures! I am working on doing the same thing…taking pictures to preserve memories of the little everyday things. I haven’t created an art journal, but have decided to blog the picture journey as a Project 365 – trying to notice and appreciate the blessing around me.

  2. Miriam Prantner says:

    This is great! I can’t wait to see where you go with this! Art journaling is one of those things I want to try, but just haven’t gotten around to actually doing. You might want to take a look at Ronda Palazzari’s Book the Art of Layers, I think it’s a really good cross-section/bridge between traditional scrapbooking and more mixed media/art journaling stuff…..I just haven’t gotten to do much of it yet….

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

