streeeeeetch your scraps


So the other day I took some time to scrapbook. Just for me. No assignments. No deadlines. Just for the fun of it. It was therapeudic. Even though the pages I completed weren’t my best work ever and certainly not magazine worthy, I had a great time and it felt good to get a few done.

I thought I’d share one of them here with you today. Do you have lots of little scraps lying around on your table? Are you like me that you can hardly bear to throw any of them out because you can still see some usefulness in them? I think most crafters are the same. They love their papers to bits. And bits and bits. And even smaller bits.

I have this little container setting on my desk that catches all my tiny strips of paper.

I often use strips like this to stamp my sentiments on when making cards. But some of them have been tucked in there just because I think they’re fun, like that pink piece with the circles punched out. I didn’t throw it away because I thought it would be fun to add it to a project just as it is sometime. Just to be quirky. I admit, I may have a slight problem with parting with my scraps. But, to be fair, my scraps are very well organized and I can’t even begin to tell you how many times this little container of scraps has come in handy.

So the other day when I sat down to scrapbook I stared at that container of scraps, noted how full it was getting, and decided to see if I could challenge myself to use nothing but those scraps to make a page. Could it be done? I love a challenge, especially one I give myself. So, once the challenge was issued, there was just no turning back!

I began with some old photos I’ve had on my desk for a while waiting to be scrapped. I had tried scrapbooking these photos before, but I just couldn’t come up with something I liked. I started pulling out some scraps that I thought would go well with the photos.

I noticed my son’s birthday cake had confetti decorations along the bottom, so I took my queue from that. Confetti is great for conveying a party theme. Plus, making confetti requires punching small bits of paper. Small bits, you say? I can do small bits!! Yes indeed! Small scraps are perfect for punching small shapes. A fabulous way to use them up, I say!

And so it was done! The only other thing I added was some alphabet stickers to spell out my title. I also punched some holes right into my page. It might be hard to tell which ones they are, but I thought it added an element of fun to the page.

So, what do you think? Think you could make a page entirely out of tiny scraps! Are you up for the challenge? If you do, I hope you’ll tell me about it! I’d love to see what you come up with!

I hope you’ll stop by again tomorrow when I’ll be announcing this month’s reader of the month!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “streeeeeetch your scraps

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    This layout is so fun! I have a TON of scraps! The littlest ones I keep in a baggie and use mostly for piecing, but Ellie knows she can use those for her ‘projects’ too. This is a great way to make use of them and I love that you punched some holes in the paper too!

  2. Lillian Child says:

    You are definitely a kindred spirit as I to am a horder of bits and bits and more bits … your page is a perfect example of how fun and creative these saved bits can be. Thanks so much for sharing with us!

  3. karenladd says:

    Wow what a great layout! I am also a paper hoarder, and that includes scraps! I have so many scraps that they are rivaling my new paper stash! I use many scraps for card-making but have to admit that, although I’ve made one or two layouts out of all paper scraps, I never thought to punch circles for a confetti effect. This is wonderful…and I am going to have to scraplift this for sure!

  4. fynesdesigns says:

    I am a total scrap hoarder. I keep the clear zipper bags that bed sheets come in and have them stashed in there (one for plain cardstock, one for pattern paper, and one for designer ‘expensive’ paper) Great Layout. I have a few ‘scrap’ projects coming up on my blog soon.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

