Content


I’ve been busy this week preparing for my son’s birthday party this weekend, but I wanted to pop in real quick and share this page I whipped together yesterday.

I’ve been hoarding this older, flowered, Studio Calico paper for a while now and figured now would be a great time to use it.  I don’t normally use an entire sheet of patterned paper for the background of my pages, especially one with such a bold pattern.  I tend to use busy patterns in smaller amounts.  But I’ve seen a resurgence of patterned papers being used as a background lately and thought it would be fun for a change.  I toned down the area I wanted my photo to be with white acrylic paint that I scraped on using a credit card-like scraper tool.    I left lots of white space.  Because I like white space.

From there I layered on a bunch of stuff from various places.  A few pieces of paper left over from my last Market Fresh Kit, a couple of new items in my shop, and a sneak peek at another new item that I plan to put in the shop very soon.

I had no plan when I began this page, but just started playing around and went wherever inspiration led.  It’s a super quick, messy and fun way to scrapbook.  I love to see what happens when I’m not thinking too hard about what I want the end results to look like.  It results in a much more random and messy look.  At least for me.  But I like it.

The doily journaling card is a new item in the shop and the tiny camera embellishment is an item I will be putting up soon.  Hopefully later today or tomorrow.  I’d like just a few more days in this week, please.  I’ve been consumed with party plans and I’m really just ready for it to be over now at this point.

How do you like your backgrounds?  Plain card stock? Busy patterns?  Some of both?

Thanks so much for stopping by!

 

6 thoughts on “Content

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    I really love this layout. I love that you scrapped you – which I pretty much never do, and that you just kind of let yourself go. The result is really lovely, and so much more so because of where you are in life right now. I almost never use a full sheet of patterned paper either, mostly because I’m trying to cram so many photos in that it really does look too busy, but this is really nice.

  2. photosglitterglue says:

    I really like this page. The circles you cut out look good. As does the doily journaling card. I havent used patterned paper as a background without a challenge to in a long time so you’ve inspired me to give it a try.

  3. Liz Ortiz says:

    I like the variety of techniques and materials you used. I struggle with overthinking projects, I might have to try not to think to much and see if I like the results as much as I like yours! TFS
    Have a wonderful day!
    Liz

  4. karenladd says:

    Yay for you! Using hoarded supplies, and going for something that you usually don’t do….it all paid off with a lovely layout! I have trouble using patterned paper for layout backgrounds so I know how hard it can be to just go for it!

  5. Lisa - papergrace says:

    I love this!! Love the layers and the bold background. And seeing you? The perfect addition to ANY page. But…you HAVE to tell me how you stitched those Thickers to this page!! PLEASE?!! Thank you. 🙂

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

