Just sittin’ here chattin’ with you!


The kids ran out the door to meet the bus about an hour and a half ago and Eric left on another business trip a few minutes before. I’m sitting here with my coffee thinking about how it’s been a while since I’ve sat here and chatted with you! I sure wish you could grab your coffee and pull up a chair beside me so we could chat face to face, but I guess this will have to do.

I haven’t been doing so good on the blogging front lately. It’s been busy (it always is), but also I just haven’t had the desire to blog much lately. But in the few quiet moments I have right now before I dig into my to-do list for the day I thought I’d just sit down for just a little while and catch up with you all. It’s been a while since I’ve written a more personal post and if you’re not into that kind, that’s OK. Feel free to skip it.

I’m on the last week of a seven week Bible study by Beth Moore with women from my church. This time we’re doing James, Mercy Triumphs.

It’s been intense. Her Bible studies include lots of homework, which I haven’t gotten finished each week. But it’s been SO GOOD!! If you’ve never taken a Beth Moore Bible study, you should. I love Beth Moore. Love her!! She has a tremendous gift for studying the Word and bringing it to life in a fun, fresh and practical way. She’s interesting, adorable, and hilarious, and I always learn so much from her studies.

I’ve also been taking a photography course at my local college. I have two more weeks to go, but with the Bible study and the photography class combined I’ve felt an like I’ve been doing way more homework over the past few weeks than I care to. But it’s been good. Things are finally beginning to click and I’m so glad I took this course. Here are a couple of photo collages I put together of a few of the photos I’ve taken over the past couple of weeks as part of my class assignments. I know I have a lot to learn in the way of photography. And I know that I have SO much room for improvement and even now I can see things about these photos that I’d do differently. But that’s why I’m taking this class. To learn and grow and improve my photography skills.

The kids have been begging me to bake some pies. We are a family of pie lovers. All kinds of pies. I know I’ve shared here before how I inherited my love and skill of pie baking from my mother. I kind of love the process, but it takes a bit longer to whip up a pie than it does some other desserts, so I just don’t take the time to do it as often as my family would like. So yesterday I took requests and set out to do some pie baking and took photos along the way.

I’m so glad I did, because not only was it a great exercise in photography, these photos make me realize how much I treasure the art my mother passed on to me for baking a really good pie. From my youngest recollections come memories of standing by my mother’s elbow watching as she floured the surface and balled up the dough. The way she patted it and sprinkled flour on top and then the way she stretched that dough out with the rolling pin, placed it in the pan,  and sliced off the excess dough with a knife, making it fall in an unbroken ring around her arm. I was always so amazed how she could do that.  But then, finally, how she’d pinch the edges of the dough with her fingers to flute them. And then, of course, bake them until the crusts were a golden brown perfection.

A trick I learned from my mother-in-law (because I don’t remember my mom ever doing this), is to use the excess dough from pie baking to make roly polys, cinnamon and brown sugar rolled up in the thinly rolled pie crust. The kids love these and they’re now often part of my pie baking as well.

Aside from pie baking, photography and Bible study, I’ve also been spending time going through our possessions and weeding out things we no longer need in preparation to move. Right now we’re waiting to hear whether the offer we put on a house has been accepted or not, which could take as long as another month, but we’re hoping it will be sooner.

Yesterday my husband’s brother and his wife welcomed their first child into the world. A baby girl! They named her Haven Grace. Isn’t that pretty? We all can’t wait to meet Haven. I’m hoping to be able to take the kids to see her tonight. Of course I’ll take my camera. I love newborn photos and I hear she has a head full of dark hair! Perhaps there will be some baby photos coming soon.

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed the chat as much as I have. I know I’ve been the one chatting and you’ve been the one “listening”. I’d love to hear about what’s going on in your world. Drop me a line and say hi! I love hearing from you!

Hope you all have a beautiful day! Thanks SO much for stopping by!

 

3 thoughts on “Just sittin’ here chattin’ with you!

  1. Jinny Newlin says:

    Brenda, I LOVE this post! It is so fun to learn a little more about you! I’ve never done a Beth Moore Bible Study. I’m not much of hanging out with a big group of girls and crying. LOL! But I’ve begun one of her newest books. I’m having a difficult time getting into it, but I know it’ll get better.

    Good luck with your photograph class, too! What an adventure!

    And those pies! Yummy! You’re making me want to bake more than the cookies that are in my oven right now ;).

    Oh, and CONGRATULATIONS, Auntie! Hugs!

  2. Karen Sauder says:

    I love making pies too…but rarely do…more time then brownies/cookies and don’t last very long around here….but I should make some again…

    Love the post about your life. 🙂 And congrats on the new niece! My brother & wife are expecting in August…will be nice to have an infant in the family again!

  3. Catherine O. says:

    Thanks for the lovely update Brenda. I’m doing the same Beth Moore study with a wonderful group of godly women and am just loving it! It’s my first Beth Moore study but I can guarantee it won’t be my last – she is so good at bringing the Bible to life for me.

    I will be praying for the home situation on behalf of your family.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

