Faux Washi Tape with Market Street Stamps


Hiya! How are you all?

It’s not been a great blogging week for me. Too much to get done! But I hope you all have been doing fabulously well!

I’m here to share a fun technique that I use to mimic the look of one of my favorite paper crafting supplies ever.

Washi tape. It’s hot, hot, HOT, and it’s everywhere! As I looked through photos that so many CHA winter attendees shared this year I noticed that it seemed almost every company is releasing washi tapes to coordinate with their paper crafting lines this year. So many fun designs and I’d love to have them all!

But, I’d be willing to bet you’re a lot like me and you can’t just go out and buy everything your little heart desires. No matter how much you love it. Even though I have quite a stash of tapes already, sometimes I need one in a color or design that I just don’t have. So, I thought I’d share a fun and easy little technique I use to mimic the look of washi tape when I don’t have just the right one in my stash.

All you need are some stamps, ink and small strips of card stock. Even vellum would work for this. The thinner the card stock/paper, the better and more natural it will look.

All you need to do is simply stamp your design of choice (Market Street Stamps background stamps are perfect for this) onto your paper of choice, cut it into narrow strips and tear or cut it into any length you need.

On this card I stamped both the sentiment and the small strip at the top and used them in the same way I’d use tape if I had it.

I chose to make a focal image that looks like a polaroid photo and “tape” it up with my faux tape.

 

Another fun idea is to stamp on several different strips of paper in various designs and colors of ink and weave them together, much like you could with tape.

That one with the grid design actually reminds me of one of my very favorite tapes that I own from Pink Paislee. I’ve used it nearly to death and only have a little bit left, but when it’s gone I can make my own in a similar style!

Get out your stamps and see what you can do! Making your own washi tape is a fun way to stretch your stash! Background stamps are a great option, as well as any stamps with a narrow strip of images, such as the flowers and the argyle. Or a tiny single stamp works too. Like a little heart , or  words, stamped repeatedly. The possibilities are endless and you won’t break the bank!

Thanks so much for joining me today! I’d love to hear about ways you use washi tape, or even if you’ve ever made your own!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 
Smile Card:

also used:
patterned paper: Little Yellow Bicycle

You’re an Inspiration card:



also used:
green and red card stock: unknown source
ink: Stampin’ Up! (Sage Shadow, Cameo Coral- discontinued)
tag: Pick Your Plum

3 thoughts on “Faux Washi Tape with Market Street Stamps

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    These projects are great. Love the tips! Washi tape is one of those things that’s on my list to buy, but hasn’t made it to the top yet. This is a great compromise between my wallet and my crafty wants. 🙂

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

